>Fourth Time’s the Charm Macarons

April 24, 2011 § 29 Comments

>

Sometimes, I can be a little stubborn. With each batch of macarons coming out a little less perfect I knew I was doing something wrong. This made me even more determined to master the technique, so I regrouped and spent an afternoon reading up on macarons. I read through several detailed step-by-step processes, tips on making the perfect macaron, and common errors in making macarons. Armed with the research and my copy of Mad About Macarons, I went into my fourth attempt ready to tackle them once and for good.

I measured, whipped, folded, and mixed. Piping out the batter I knew that this time was different. The batter held its shape and didn’t spread out like it had on my previous attempts. I had a good, but apprehensive, feeling. After popping the baking sheets into the oven, I sat by the oven and stared in, watching and waiting for the feet to appear. At about four minutes they began to peek out and say hello, and the domed tops stood up tall and proud.

Finally, I had done it – I had made some progress in making macarons. With a bit of hollowness in the shells and a little chewiness still on the table I know I still have some learning to do – but I’m definitely getting there and am happy with my fourth attempt. I have more eggs in the fridge with plans to make another batch tomorrow… keep your fingers crossed for me! Maybe this will be the perfect batch. Like most things in life, practice makes perfect and I’m up for the challenge.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 29 Responses to >Fourth Time’s the Charm Macarons

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Fourth Time’s the Charm Macarons at Sweet Shanti.

meta

