>Macaron Madness

April 16, 2011 § 22 Comments

>

Macarons, second attempt

Several months ago I tried my hand at making macarons. They didn’t turn out perfect but since it was my first try I was wildly happy with the results. Since then, they’ve been hovering over my head and in the back of my mind I wondered if it was just luck and coincidence that they turned out, or if I truly did get the technique right. I kept putting off another attempt though, because just the thought of all the work that goes into them made me tired.

Last week my girlfriend hosted her monthly potluck, with this month’s theme being eggs in honor of Easter. I figured now would be as good of a time as any to give macarons another go. I filled them with the leftover choco-almond frosting from the cupcakes I made over the weekend and while they still didn’t turn out perfect, they were just as delicious as could be. I think my friend, who ate one after another, agrees with me!

Third attempt
Now, I’m determined to master the macaron. I made a third batch over the weekend and sadly, this was the worst batch of all. I did get the ‘feet’, but you can see from the photo how they extend past the dome (which by the way, is barely even a dome at all!). I spent a good amount of time over the weekend reading up on macarons and think I know where I went wrong. I have more eggs aging at home right now and hope to make perfect macarons with the fourth batch.
Tagged: , ,

§ 22 Responses to >Macaron Madness

  • briarrose says:

    >Such a challenging goodie to get just right…..though I always think half the fun in things that don't turn out like I want is eating the evidence…ehehehe. I look forward to seeing the next effort. :)

  • >You made your own macarons?? Impressive! They look wonderful!

  • Sandra says:

    >I always thought they are so hard to make..you did it so beautifully! I love the photos and presentation!

  • >Okay, when you get them perfected please share. I have yet to try and make them. I've seen a lot of people have difficulty with them. I bet they taste good even if they don't look pretty. Hope you have a great week.-Gina-

  • Foodiva says:

    >Okay Roxan, which part of these macarons do you deem imperfect because I can't see them?! They look pretty damn good to me, so don't be hard on yourself. At least you've attempted to make them 3 times while I have not even done so once…. but I have egg whites ageing in my fridge as I type. Now just have to muster up the courage!

  • >Making macarons is such an addictive challenge, that's the fun part of making this kind of dessert.

  • Marisa says:

    >I am so scared of macarons. Good for you for continuing to perfect yours. They look pretty damn good to me!

  • >Wow! What a great job :) I don't see anything wrong with those macarons! I still haven't worked up the nerve to try baking macarons… I'll get there soon! :) Thanks for sharing your experiences!

  • >I have never made my own macaroons before and am always impressed by those who have. They seem daunting…but worth the effort in the end :) Good luck!

  • Yesim says:

    >they looks awesome .. macarons recently getting famous in Turkey, i can say me and my friends recently met with that great taste, but i dont like to eat it anywhere, there s just 1 place we like but it s such expensive:) i should gather my courage to cook myself aswell.. good job!

  • >I think they look gorgeous! I don't have the patience for fiddly desserts and I hate it when things don't work first time. Well done for giving it 3 attempts. It's a lovely Easter idea, all those pastel colours remind me of cadbury's mini eggs!! :D

  • Michael Toa says:

    >The macaroons look great I think. I haven't attempted to make them yet. It's daunting and I'm still building up the courage.

  • >I think your macarons look great. You should take a look at my friend Megan's blog at Delicious Dishings. She has some great instructions from the Flour cookbook.

  • Jenn says:

    >I love that you will not let it defeat you! I've made macarons once and told myself I'd just buy them from the store from now on!! lol They were a pain!

  • Adora's Box says:

    >They are lovely macarons and at just the second attempt. Bet they tasted really good, too.

  • lena says:

    >oh, macarons are just way too adventurous for me, i dont know when will i ever start to do that! what's wrong with the 3rd batch? they already look good to me!

  • >I keep seeing these wonderful macarons and yours do look really good, perfection comes with trying, trying and trying again … sounds like you're already almost there.

  • Joy says:

    >Good job, they look great.

  • Dawn says:

    >I have never attempted them but yours make me want to! I'm not sure where they are imperfect. They are so gorgeous!

  • Tanantha says:

    >they look good to me! i've never attempted to make these but i know who i can ask if i have the same problem. Roxy the master of macarons! :D

  • elle marie says:

    >Hello Darling! My apologies for missing a few of your posts! I have to tell you this little secret, I've been doing this for years, the macaron ,and I STILL have fail moments, the oven was off, or I forgot to check the temp.. and hey, you at least have feet!Practice does make perfect.. I've been in your shoes many times over! What macaron method are you using?

  • Leanne says:

    >Oh my! These are beautiful. I'm definitely going to be living vicariously through your Macaroning (that's totally a word, thankyouverymuch) until I come up with a nut-free version!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Macaron Madness at Sweet Shanti.

meta

