>Matcha Cupcakes with Coco-Almond Frosting

April 10, 2011 § 18 Comments

>

Happy birthday, Tak!

Every time I see you fools I realize how awesome my friends are.My friend sent me this text last night and I wholeheartedly with him. My friends are pretty awesome but as a group we don’t get together as often as we should – the last time was for Christmas almost four months ago! Yesterday though, we celebrated our friend’s birthday. It started off with linner (late lunch, early dinner) and somehow it went straight through the evening and night with spontaneous stops at a couple more watering holes. I didn’t get home until well past my bedtime at midnight. Good times were had and it was a celebration indeed… Friends, food, laughter – what a great start to the week.

Naked Cupcakes!

For my friend’s birthday I wanted to make him some cupcakes. I poked around a bit and found out that he loves green tea so naturally I had to make cupcakes with my favorite ingredient, matcha. I looked up a few matcha cupcake recipes but something just didn’t feel right about them so I adapted a recipe for white cake to suit this flavor. It turned out perfect – the green tea flavor really shined through without being bitter and the sugar was the right amount without being overly sweet. I paired it with a coco-almond frosting that I found to complement the matcha flavor really well. And for once I didn’t over-frost the cupcakes. Personally I love a huge mountain of frosting but I’ve noticed that people will eat around the frosting when I pile it on so I’ve learned to scale it back.



Matcha Cupcakes (Makes 12 cupcakes):
(Adapted from Allrecipes)
1 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tbsp matcha powder
1 3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup almond milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl sift together the flour, matcha powder, and baking powder. In a mixing bowl or stand mixer, cream together the caster sugar and butter. Add the eggs one at a time, and then the vanilla extract. Slowly add the flour/matcha/baking powder mixture and continue to mix. Lastly, add in the milk and continue to mix until the batter is smooth. Pour into a muffin tin lined with cupcake liners, filling each one 3/4 full. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the cake springs back to the touch.

Coco-Almond Buttercream Frosting (Makes a large amount. Half the recipe unless you want to use the leftovers for something else):
(Adapted from Vegan Cucpakes Take Over the World)
1/2 cup non-hydrogenated shortening
1/2 cup non-hydrogenated margarine
3 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 cup almond milk

Beat the margarine and shortening together until combined. In another bowl, sift together the cocoa powder and powdered sugar. Slowly add to the margarine and sugar, and beat for three minutes. Add the almond extract and almond milk and continue to beat for another five minutes until light and fluffy. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 18 Responses to >Matcha Cupcakes with Coco-Almond Frosting

  • lena says:

    >it is so true, even though me and some very dear friends seldom meet each other but i know that all of us really appreciate one another and of our friendship. I'm very sure the birthday boy msu be very gald seeing his favourite matcha in the cupcakes, how thoughful! they look wonderful, nice frosting!

  • Dawn says:

    >I love getting together with my girl friends. We don't do it enough either. It sounds like you had a fabulous time. I would LOVE one of the cupcakes right now. I'm having such a sweet craving.

  • >I love matcha baked goods, naked or with frosting. :-)) p.s the words on the rock means, well, more or less, "The Way to a Man's Heart is Through His Stomach".

  • Michael Toa says:

    >Lucky friend! The cupcakes look wonderful, naked or with frosting. I just recently bought a tin of matcha powder and cannot wait to bake with it. These cupcakes are officially on the list.

  • Tanantha says:

    >linner? took me a bit to get this haha. Never used it before but sounds so cool. Will start using this word!I agree nothing is better than hanging out with good friends, good food, and laughter. These cupcakes are so pretty! what did you put it on top? that's so cute. Almond mocha and matcha cupcake sound so good together!

  • Foodiva says:

    >The color scheme of your matcha cupcakes and funky frosting definitely caught my attention! How lovely that you can spoil your good friend with your baking talents like that. I bet your friends are all wishing that they can get together with you a lot more than every quarterly ;-). I've just baked something using matcha AGAIN, I think maybe all my posts this week will feature this yummy green powder!

  • briarrose says:

    >Beautiful cupcakes. Green tea is such a cool flavor to add in. I go straight to the pile frosting on top strategy myself…I'm not sure I could use moderation. ;)

  • RavieNomNoms says:

    >Those are so awesome and creative! I love how you did them, what a lucky friend you have to get those for their birthday from you. Glad you had fun even if it was past your bedtime ;-)

  • >This combo sounds delish and your cupcakes came out so cute. Your friend is one lucky guy!

  • Le says:

    >These look great Roxan!I still haven't tried matcha (prob coz I can't seem to find it anywhere!)but when I do find it, I'll definitely try this!I'm back in New Zealand now :( I wish I was still in Korea though, I miss it alot!

  • Celia says:

    >How pretty – and what a fun flavor combo!

  • Evan @swEEts says:

    >Could you be around for my next birthday? I would love these cupcakes! Where do you find matcha powder? I've been trying to find it.. but in central TX I'm finding it difficult!?

  • >Wow these are great, I bet your friend was more that pleased… beautifully decorated as well :)

  • >i thought my husband is the only one that uses linner when he skips lunch and wants and early dinner. the birthday boy is a lucky one, the cupcakes sound great. love match tea and i'd have a hard time eating just one cupcake. thanks for sharing Roxan

  • Medeja says:

    >Oh that color is intriguing :) and decoration very cute

  • >These cupcakes look amazing! I have to get around to trying matcha in my baking, love the color :)

  • Marisa says:

    >My mom uses the term "linner" too haha! Love the color on these. I will have to try that coco-almond frosting recipe–I am obsessed with all things almondy. Your friend is lucky!

  • […] to share. It only made sense that someone else bake for him on his birthday. I made a batch of matcha cupcakes along with the s’mores cupcakes (shown above) from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Matcha Cupcakes with Coco-Almond Frosting at Sweet Shanti.

meta

