>Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

April 6, 2011 § 18 Comments

>

At practice yesterday, there was a guy who cried out and fell to the floor in the middle of class. He lay there gasping for air as he was overexerting himself. My teacher checked on him, and told him to just rest – but soon after he was back on his feet struggling through the sequence with a grimace of pain on his face. A couple things became clear to me at that moment. The first thing is that while challenging ourselves is good, it is really unhealthy to be stubborn in pushing ourselves past our abilities or things past what they are. I know I can be pretty stubborn at times – it’s time for me to put more of an effort into letting things go and letting them be.

While this was all happening, my teacher was able to stay calm and continue leading the class while still tending to this struggling person. She never missed a beat and everyone still got the attention they needed and deserved. I know I get flustered pretty easily at times… hopefully someday I’ll learn how to remain calm in situations that currently throw me into a tailspin.

I made this ice cream yesterday before class and let it set in the freezer while I went to practice. I was so excited to try it when I got home. I don’t know why it took me so long to make cookies and cream ice cream – aside from chocolate it’s my husband’s favorite flavor. This batch of ice cream surely won’t make it through the weekend.

Cookies and Cream Ice Cream:
1 14-oz can full fat coconut milk
1 1/4 cup soy milk
1/2 cup sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup of crushed chocolate sandwich cookies

In a large bowl, combine the coconut milk, soy milk, sugar, and vanilla extract. Refrigerate for at least two hours. Freeze according to your ice cream manufacturer’s instructions, adding in the sandwich cookies during the last minute of churning.

Source: Lick It!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 18 Responses to >Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Cookies and Cream Ice Cream at Sweet Shanti.

meta

