>Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

March 27, 2011 § 26 Comments

>

I unrolled my mat and sat down, noticing the fancy yoga socks clad feet of my neighbor stretched out in front of her. Before class started my teacher asked if there was anyone new to yoga and my neighbor raised her hand. It wasn’t until class started that I noticed she was an older woman. Being a mixed levels class there is a spectrum of students – beginners like my neighbors to those who have been practicing for years and defy the laws of gravity and physics. At times, out of the corner of my eye I could see her look wide eyed in amazement at some of the other students. It was lovely being next to her – she took the class with an open heart and I could tell she truly took all of my teacher’s words in. To see that, to share in that experience made it an extra special class for me. I feel lucky to have been only one mat over from her.

These cookies are from Kim Boyce’s Good to the Grain. I don’t think I’ve ever made so many recipes from one cookbook before, and like every other baked good I’ve made from this book it did not disappoint. My coworkers were over the moon about them, and I think my manager almost didn’t believe that I made them. I know that there are a million chocolate chip recipes out there but the next time you’re in the mood for making some, please please try this one!

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies:
(This will make about 24 cookies)
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 sticks cold butter, cut into small pieces
1 cup dark brown sugar
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips (Next time I will use 1 1/2 to 2 cups though)

Line two baking sheets with silicone baking mats.

Whisk the whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a medium bowl. Set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and sugars. When creamed, add the eggs and vanilla. Beat to combine. Add the dry ingredients in two batches and mix. Finally, add the chocolate and just stir to incorporate.

Scoop balls of dough that are approximately 3 tablespoons worth. Refrigerate for half an hour and preheat oven to 350 degrees. These are big cookies, so six per sheet is plenty. Bake for 16-20 minutes, rotating the pans so that they each spend half the bake time on top and half the time on the bottom. When the baking time is up, remove them from the oven and let them rest for a few minutes. Move the cooling rack.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 26 Responses to >Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • >Looks perfect and delicious! Love the use of whole wheat flour….

  • Jennifurla says:

    >Very nice, the texture looks great too

  • Tanantha says:

    >so my girlfriends and I are signing up to yoga for sure. I didn't know it was this expensive!! geeze. We will wait until end of April for my surgery to recover. I'm excited! I'm sure I will have a lot to ask you.Aside the yoga, you get the worth of this cookbook! Your manager didn't believe you made these beautiful cookies? You should give her more often :D

  • Rick says:

    >COOKIES!!! Healthy. Nice.

  • >Thanks for sharing this recipe…I have heard this a pretty good one and "healthier" as well!

  • Amy says:

    >I love that these are whole wheat! It gives baked goods a more complexed flavor, plus healthier :)! I often use whole wheat pastry flour as well ;)!

  • >i've never made chocolate chip cookies using whole wheat flour but now that i think about it makes lot of sense : I can eat two cookies instead of one, less calories, right? Yours look so good.

  • >Thank you for stopping by my blog & commenting! :)I think your blog is awesome… never thought about making cookies with wheat flour! a much healthier option! thanks for sharing! :) I will be visiting your blog often, for sure!

  • briarrose says:

    >What a yummy cookie. I'm going to have to try this out. I use plenty of different flours in my breads, but I never transition that over to my cookies and what not…this calls for more experimenting. ;)

  • Jenn says:

    >These look wonderful! I'm a sucker for any chocolate chip cookie though :)

  • Lindsey @ Gingerbread Bagels says:

    >I LOVE chocolate chip cookies and these look sooo good. I'm always up for trying new chocolate chip cookie recipes! I'll have to try these out. :)

  • Dawn says:

    >I love your description of the new yogi…I have been next to new people several times and get the same enjoyment. I also love to see people as they advance in their practice.

  • elle marie says:

    >I've been really considering doing yoga for beginners from my apple tv, and download an episode, because working out isn't really helping with the stress as much as I want it too.. so I think if I had 20 min of yoga to my workout routine, it might help.Having said that… I like the taste of wheat, in cookie form on in a bread..it's rustic.. and there's something great about that.

  • Val says:

    >I have never made wheat cookies before….I'm missing out on this yumminess.

  • Val says:

    >I have never made wheat cookies before….I'm missing out on this yumminess.

  • Cristina says:

    >I've been reading a lot of good things about that cookbook. I like this chocolate chip cookie recipe using all whole wheat flour – did it affect the texture much? Thx for sharing this cookie recipe, I'd luv to give it a try. =)

  • >Delicious n mouthwatering….looks really yum…first time here..u hv a lovely space..visit mine as time permits….Sanyuktahttp://creativesanyukta.blogspot.com/

  • >I love incorporating whole grains into our everyday foods. Spelt has become my new favorite grain!These are a must try for me, I'm certain they will be popular with my family.Love your story about the lady next to you, those type of things make my day!

  • aipi says:

    >That is custom made for me. Chocolate and whole wheat and baked. Personally I always try to use whole when I make these. A classic recreated perfectly.US Masala

  • RavieNomNoms says:

    >Those look so amazing my dear! I love using Whole Wheat for just about everything…so this is great! I have to admit I haven't used it for cookies yet, but I will :-)

  • Marisa says:

    >Hey Roxan, who can resist a simple homemade chocolate chip cookie! They look great. That was so nice of you to share them with your co-workers. I am definitely a cookie monster and think I would keep them all to myself! lol I bet you can't even taste the difference of the whole wheat flour–a secret better-for-you ingredient!

  • >I love whole wheat chocolate chip cookies, they taste nuttier. I also love your plate, so cute! I have a bit of a plate & bowl obsession at the moment and this one is making me want to grab it! I should be saying that about the cookies, I know!!

  • >This is my type of cookie, love to bake them with whole wheat flour….They look delich:)

  • Lizzy says:

    >Your cookies look beautiful…and I love the idea of using ww flour :)

  • Leanne says:

    >Oh my YES! Love cookies that I can pretend are healthy. Although, to be honest, I've kind of given up even pretending at this point.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies at Sweet Shanti.

meta

