>Mushroom Red Wine Tomato Sauce on Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta

March 21, 2011 § 28 Comments

>

On our way out I grabbed a coat and scarf; it’s been warming up but the nights are still a bit chilly. I was glad I did because the night was unexpectedly cold. We ate dinner, glad to be sitting away from the door and the cold air that would drift in every time it opened and closed. Later when we met my friend and her husband for drinks I left my coat on as we sat at the bar. Then the rain came – and yesterday it poured almost nonstop. I stayed indoors all day, sheltered from the unfortunate weather outside as the LA Marathon runners passed by my house only two blocks away.

I didn’t leave the house yesterday, at all. My foot didn’t set foot past the front door and it was awesome… perfect. I tend to spread myself thin and am out of town most weekends. While fun, it’s tiresome so when I get a weekend at home I try to relish it as much as possible. I decided to take advantage of the day spent indoors by making a meal that takes a little more time and care to prepare. It was so nice, tending to the simmering sauce as the rain fell outside and Eric and Nala on the couch watching March Madness games. This meal was perfect for a rainy Sunday – the rich sauce and chewy noodles so comforting. I wish I had time to cook like this every day.

Mushroom Red Wine Tomato Sauce:
3 1/2 tbsp olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 28-oz can whole San Marzano tomatoes
1 6-oz can tomato paste
1/2 cup red wine
2 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
1 medium brown onion, chopped
1 dried bay leaf
1 tbsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried thyme
10 oz sliced cremini mushrooms
1 oz dried porcini mushrooms, reconstituted in water and the large pieces roughly chopped
Shaved parmesan cheese
Pasta noodles (Recipe below)

In a large saucepan, heat 3 tbsp of the olive oil to medium heat and add the minced garlic. When fragrant, add the san marzano tomatoes and use your spatula to break up the tomatoes. Add the tomato paste and stir until combined. Stir in the red wine and sugar. Add the pepper, bay leaves, oregano, and thyme, and let simmer on low for an hour to an hour and a half. Remove bay leaves after the sauce is done simmering

On the side, in a smaller sauce pan, heat the remaining 1/2 tbsp of the olive oil and saute the onions for a few minutes until softened. Add to the simmering tomato sauce. Saute the cremini mushrooms for a minute in the same sauce pan and then add to the tomato sauce. Squeeze the porcini mushrooms of excess water and also add to the tomato sauce. Stir and continue to let simmer.

Add pasta noodles to a dish, spoon some sauce over it, and top with some parmesan cheese.

Whole Wheat Pasta:
A few notes:
I doubled the ingredients, but used a mix of half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour. Also, the dough was having a hard time coming together so I added about 2 tbsp of cold water and hand kneaded for about 10 minutes. Pasta was cut using a pasta maker
Tagged: , , ,

§ 28 Responses to >Mushroom Red Wine Tomato Sauce on Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Mushroom Red Wine Tomato Sauce on Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta at Sweet Shanti.

meta

