>Rosemary Olive Oil Spelt Cake (& a Few Words on Savasana)

March 14, 2011 § 23 Comments

>

I remember when I first started yoga I didn’t think that savasana was anything special. I wondered why we even had to do it, wanting to skip that pose entirely and leave class before the finishing pose – I would have too, if I didn’t consider it so rude to leave before a class was over. Outwardly, I nodded when others spoke of the importance of savasana, but internally I scoffed and poo-poohed at it and them. But then as time passed, I started to enjoy and even look forward to connecting with the ground and letting everything go, limbs stretched outward and reflecting on the practice I had just experienced. More recently I find myself skipping or shortening the last suggested poses so I can have a longer, juicier savasana. A teacher told me recently that savasana (translated: corpse pose) signifies closure or an ending, and coming out of it to a seated position signifies a rebirth – often why we pass through fetal position on the way up – and starting anew. I found that to be very provoking and try to honor that thought at the end of each practice now.

As special as I heave learned savasana pose to be, I never fully understood its importance until last week. As we began to settle in to our final rest, someone’s Blackberry began to go off. It must have been someone’s alarm because it kept going and going… Normally I’m able to block out distractions and turn inward but I think because it was the same ringtone I used in the past as my morning alarm, I lay hovering in a distracted state. I lay there, a bit saddened by the thought that my practice might be left incomplete because of this. Eventually, the owner of the phone walked over and turned her phone off. Then, it was silent and I began to feel the peaceful vibration of energy buzz through the room like a blanket. It was the moment I was waiting for, and it was at that moment I realized just how profound savasana was.

This doesn’t really have anything to do with the cake I posted but I felt compelled to write about it. I can say though, that they are both very special! This is another recipe I used from Kim Boyce’s Good to the Grain, and say without a doubt that this is the best recipe I’ve tried so far. With each baked good I make from this book I love it that much more. I’m a bit lazy about transcribing recipes, but if you’d like to make this wonderful cake (and I whole heartedly encourage you to!) you can find the recipe on Heidi Swanson’s 101 Cookbooks. My only difference is that I didn’t add the sugar on top for crunch – perhaps I glossed over that part in the book but it sounds like a lovely addition.

Tagged: ,

§ 23 Responses to >Rosemary Olive Oil Spelt Cake (& a Few Words on Savasana)

  • Tanantha P. says:

    >That sounds so powerful! To be honest, I'm secretly jealous that you've experienced it. I haven't experienced it for years since I've stopped meditated. I've tried but didn't get the same energy.As reading it, a thought of going to a yoga hit me. Keep posting it Roxy. I'm hoping because of your posts I will start doing yoga soon.

  • Eva says:

    >That cake looks lovely, love the ingredients too :) And keep it going with the yoga, I took a class a couple years ago and it was a blast! You can really feel the difference in your posture, it helped me a lot because I have mild scoliosis and tend to slouch.

  • >I've never done any kind of yoga, and kind of think I'd benefit a lot from it. Is there a certain kind that is especially good for beginners?

  • Raina says:

    >That is actually one of my favorite parts of yoga. I feel so peaceful and relaxed. I can almost fall asleep..lol A teacher once told me that it is the most difficult pose to do properly. Your healthy cake looks great:)

  • Cake Duchess says:

    >Every time I read your posts about yoga I think I need to just go to a class:)This cake looks fantastic!!

  • Michael Toa says:

    >I've never done yoga but it sounds relaxing, finding your inner power.. I don't really know what I'm talking about to be honest.. The cake looks wonderful. Love rosemary oil.

  • >I've never practiced yoga, but I grew up watching my mum practice it for years, in the 70s. She could contort into the most amazing poses and she really had this glow and serenity about her, though life was very trying for us, back then. She even thought me the lotus position :) I wonder why I never got into it,now…Anyway, I love the idea of baking with spelt and would love to try this recipe if I manage to track down a bag of spelt!

  • >I've never practiced yoga, but I grew up watching my mum practice it for years, in the 70s. She could contort into the most amazing poses and she really had this glow and serenity about her, though life was very trying for us, back then. She even thought me the lotus position :) I wonder why I never got into it,now…Anyway, I love the idea of baking with spelt and would love to try this recipe if I manage to track down a bag of spelt!

  • lena says:

    >glad you found your way to relax your mind and body, i enjoy reading about your yoga talk! i just took a quick look at the recipe, sounds like a great cake, thanks for the given link!

  • Celia says:

    >Ooh, this looks great. I was actually looking for a spelt cake recipe yesterday; I wound up using almond flour, but I'll definitely try this another time!

  • >Beautiful cake! I'll have to try that book.I'm glad you were able to relax in the end! I hurt my back a few weeks ago and haven't been able to do any yoga since (I can't bend!). I find what I miss most about it is the sense of calm that comes at the end of practice.

  • >I still have yet to use spelt flour in my own cooking. They recently started carrying it at our co-op and your rosemary cake has given me new reason to try it :)Hope you're having a good week, Roxan! I admire your commitment to yoga so much–I simply don't have the patience or concentration needed to fully relax when doing yoga!

  • >i've never did any yoga exercise but my husband does and while reading your post I remembered his words: yoga makes you shine and young again:) your cakes looks great. have a wonderful day Roxan

  • >I have been wanting to learn yoga and have a friend that is a former instructor…when I read your posts I am always encouraged to move forward with it. The cake sounds very lovely and love the rosemary. Hope your week is going well

  • >I should start doing yoga again, I stopped before because our instructor used to give us a huge hug individually after each session, I found it really uncomfortable, but that's just me!! I can't let go…You use spelt a lot , I'm intrigued -going to hunt some down because this sounds lovely!!

  • Dawn says:

    >I feel the same way about savasana. I look forward to it each and every practice.

  • >I look forward to Savasana at the end of my classes, too. In fact, one of my yoga videos ends with such a short Savasana at the end that it makes me feel unsettled afterwards!The cake looks delicious! I've been wanting to make a savory baked good with rosemary lately!

  • >Good to the grain is a wonderful cookbook and I have been eyeing it for a while…thanks for sharing this! Sounds yummy. You always inspire me to be healthier!

  • Jason Phelps says:

    >Need the cake!Thanks for sharing the source of the recipe.Jason

  • >Wonderful recipe….great ingredients, thanks for sharing:)

  • >This cake sounds delicious. I can drink olive oil – well, Portuguese olive oil. It's brilliant!

  • Tiffany says:

    >This reminds me of one of my favorite cakes from a restaurant in Ann Arbor! Also, I couldn't agree more re: the beauty of savasana. I'm always amazed at the folks who pack up when it starts and leave class 5-10 minutes early. Yoga is so much more than a workout…but perhaps for these folks it's not…

  • Polwig says:

    >Savasana was always my favorite part of practice, maybe because it would signify that the class was over and I could finally rest my body. I would skip practice just to do Savasana but I don't think it would have the same effect ;). I do use the corpse pose at times when I can't fall asleep and it's great at bringing me piece.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Rosemary Olive Oil Spelt Cake (& a Few Words on Savasana) at Sweet Shanti.

meta

