>Cinnamon Apple Cake

March 3, 2011 § 30 Comments

>

I’m starting physical therapy soon. I have been in pain for some time now and finally saw a doctor about it earlier this week. Truth be told, I’ve been a little down in the dumps over it the past few days. I know, wallowing and self-pity are not very becoming of me… But sometimes you just can’t help how you feel. I can say though, that I have been making a conscious effort to try focusing my energy on things that bring positivity and joy into my life.

Last night, it was as if my teacher had read my mind and knew that I was in need. Her husband is a musical artist and every so often he will play live music during class – he played the electric violin and strummed away on his guitar. I snapped this photo before class started (it doesn’t show up well but you can see the setup in the left side of the picture). The class last night was just what I needed – it was one of those special practices where time simply melted away and disappeared. It still calms me to think back to it.

I don’t bake as much as I used to but this week I have been throwing myself back into baking. Time in the kitchen is meditative and comforting in general for me, but there is something about baking that is especially so. One of the things I made this week is the cinnamon apple cake shown above. It is delicious, filled to the brim with apples, and yes – vegan. I’ve tagged it with both breakfast and dessert because well, for a few days straight I ate it for both breakfast and dessert… And even in between as a snack. As I type this I don’t have the recipe in front of me but will edit my post later with it.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 30 Responses to >Cinnamon Apple Cake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Cinnamon Apple Cake at Sweet Shanti.

meta

