>Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

February 24, 2011 § 36 Comments

>

I purchased Isa Chandra Moscowitz’s Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World about a month ago but after flipping through the book, it ended up snugly on my bookshelf along with the rest of my collection – not for lack of enthusiasm, but because I find it hard to go through an entire batch of cupcakes unless there is a special occasion for me to share them with others. But this weekend, a very special birthday passed – my husband Eric’s! Unfortunately, our dinner plans fell through as work invaded our weekend, but hopefully these delicious cupcakes at least partially made up for that.

I know – vegan – groan. But these cupcakes are truly delicious and after giving a few away to friends we did make it through the entire batch! Maybe I should have saved the last one for the birthday boy, but yesterday I was craving something sweet all day at work so the second I got home I gobbled it right up. I really did mean to just take one bite, but one bite turned into another and before I knew it all that was left was the cupcake wrapper. We have plans for a make-up date this weekend since we weren’t able to celebrate last weekend, so while I feel a little guilty about eating the last cupcake I don’t feel that guilty.
If you are interested in vegan cupcakes I really recommend this cookbook. I made the cupcakes last Saturday and the frosting on Sunday, and they were just as tasty yesterday when I ate the last one. I can say though, to add the milk that is in the last step of the frosting recipe. My frosting seemed soft enough so I skipped that step  – it ended up being un-pipeable so I used a knife to create frosting domes on the cupcakes, lightly dusted with cocoa powder.
Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 36 Responses to >Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting at Sweet Shanti.

meta

