>Spelt Focaccia Bread (Sandwich), and More on Panera!

February 23, 2011 § 25 Comments

>

I have been eyeing Kim Boyce‘s “Good to the Grain” for several months now. Every couple weeks I would look it up to read a little more about it and tell myself that three shelves of cookbooks is enough. But recently – finally – I bit the bullet and purchased a copy. When it arrived I read through the opening pages and looked at every recipe. I do eventually want to try each of the grains profiled, but some are a bit pricey so I’ve decided to go through one at a time, beginning with spelt.

I knew I wanted to make a yeasted bread because it’s been a while since the last time, so I woke up bright and early on Sunday morning to get started on the dough. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of switching the rise times – it calls for 2 hours for the first rise and 1 for the second, but since I had to get to yoga I let them rise the other way around. The smell of it baking was heaven in itself but the bread turned out golden brown and beautifully delicious, and I couldn’t stop eating it. Chewy on the inside with a nice crunch on the outside it made the perfect sandwich to hold my brie, baby spinach and tomatoes.

Coincidentally, while I was eating my lunch I posted a photo of my half eaten sandwich on Facebook and a friend of mine commented that she tried making a yeasted bread but it turned out to be a brick. I suggested that perhaps the water she used to proof her yeast was too warm and as it turns out – she had used boiling water, thus killing her yeast. I have sent her to The Bakers Table, a page on the Panera* website that hosts a few videos that include tips on baking bread.
Panera also has some good resources on Facebook, highlighting the use of fresh ingredients. It’s hard to say which section is my favorite – it’s probably a tie between the mac & cheese and strawberries (note: the strawberry section has a nice video on a delicious strawberry ad poppy seed salad!)
As much as I’d like to, I don’t make my own bread all that often. It’s hard to get through a whole batch before it goes bad, and I frankly just don’t have the time. Luckily, wonderful fresh bread can be readily found everywhere. One of my favorite places to go for a good sandwich on some wonderfully baked bread is Panera. Their bread is fresh and dare I say even better than my own homemade bread? It’s true – I have a long way to go before I can consider myself a bread maker.
*Note: I have been compensated for my words on Panera.
Tagged: , ,

§ 25 Responses to >Spelt Focaccia Bread (Sandwich), and More on Panera!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Spelt Focaccia Bread (Sandwich), and More on Panera! at Sweet Shanti.

meta

