>Vegan Coffee Ice Cream on a Simple Saturday

February 20, 2011 § 35 Comments

>

On my way to the studio – I look like a bag lady

Simple Saturdays are good for the soul, and yesterday truly was simple. I took my time getting out of bed but when I finally left the bedroom the first thing I did was grind myself some beans for a fresh pot of coffee – I love the smell of fresh ground beans. I had planned on making some chocolate ice cream but I was inspired by my mug of delicious brew that I made coffee ice cream instead. I sipped away as it churned.

Sky above

It’s been raining in LA, and I caught the break as I walked to yoga. Though I was cold and bundled up with a scarf, the sidewalk was dry and the sky above was bright and clear. Practice yesterday, I kept in the the theme of Simple Saturday as I felt my energy level was a bit low – perhaps still recovering from the whirlwind work week. I was glad to get home before the skies opened back up, and to some delicious coffee ice cream. I will cherish every last bite of it!

Vegan Coffee Ice Cream:
1 15-oz can of full fat coconut milk
1 1/4 c almond milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 cup sugar
2 heaping tbsp of instant coffee
1 tbsp cornstarch

Combine all the ingredients and mix thoroughly. Chill in the refrigerator for 2 hours, and then freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

Inspiration: Lick It!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 35 Responses to >Vegan Coffee Ice Cream on a Simple Saturday

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Vegan Coffee Ice Cream on a Simple Saturday at Sweet Shanti.

meta

