>Ube Kissed Shortbread Cookies

February 8, 2011 § 40 Comments

>

One of the things I’ll miss the most about the Philippines is their abundance of wonderful bakeries filled to the brim with delicious Filipino pastries. I loved stopping in the random bakeries we walked past to grab a quick snack, whether or not I was hungry – knowing I would miss the fresh pastries and baked goods when I got back home, I visited as many bakeries as I could. The thing I always looked for first was anything with the beautiful hue of purple to find my precious ube. Earlier this week I made ube pancakes with the ube jam I brought home from Tagaytay. I still had a good amount left so I decided to make some cookies with it.


Street snacks in Tagaytay,
we got one of each
These cookies were delicious. I waited a bit to let the chocolate kisses set before I tasted them, but once they did, my husband and I inhaled four of them. That being said, I will say that they were not as good as they could have been. Like the pancakes, I found a peanut butter cookie recipe and simply swapped out the peanut butter with the ube jam. The resulting dough was really watery and more of a batter-like consistency, so I started adding flour and sugar until I got the thick dough I needed to roll it into balls. The cookie – it was chewy and sweet, but a tad more cake-like than I had hoped for. Maybe someday I will understand the science of baking and will make the perfect ube shortbread cookie, but for how I am more than happy than this one!
Ube Kissed Shortbread Cookies:
1.5 cups white sugar
2 cups flour
1 cup ube jam
1/4 cup egg whites (or 1 whole egg)
30 chocolate kisses, unwrapped
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 
Combine the sugar, peanut butter, and egg with a stand mixer or by hand. Slowly add in the flour. Shape the dough into one inch balls on a prepared cookie sheet, and refrigerate for 15 minutes. Bake for 10 minutes and remove from oven. Press a chocolate kiss into the center of each warm cookie.
Tagged: , ,

§ 40 Responses to >Ube Kissed Shortbread Cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Ube Kissed Shortbread Cookies at Sweet Shanti.

meta

