>Fluffy Ube Pancakes (and the Winner to My Giveaway)

February 6, 2011 § 40 Comments

>

I love ube. I love it so much that in the past I’ve requested ube cake for my birthday and whenever I see anything ube flavored I will buy it. Going to the Philippines a few weeks ago, I was in heaven. I didn’t bring back any souvenirs for myself, other than a couple food items that can be hard to find here in the states. One item was a container of ube jam that I picked up from Good Shepherd Convent. We were visiting the beautiful city of Tagaytay, and knowing of my affinity for this purple tuber my cousin navigated us to the convent, which is known for their ube jam.

In Tagaytay with Taal Volcano in the background

I have a couple things in mind I’d like to make with the jam, but this weekend I was craving some pancakes and thought it would be interesting to experiment and see how ube pancakes would turn out. My initial thought was to make something similar to a sweet potato pancake, or even a pumpkin pancake, but after I thought about it some more I realized that the texture was just like peanut butter. I found a peanut butter pancake recipe that was perfect – I could easily swap out the peanut butter with the jam. I also switched out the milk with coconut milk to capture the essence of macapuno, which is also a popular ingredient in filipino sweets. I was really really happy with the results. The pancakes were light, fluffy, moist, and the flavor of the ube really shined through. If you are able to get some ube jam I would definitely recommend that you try them!

Also…. My bad, I completely spaced on announcing the winner of my CSN giveaway last week. Twice. The winner is: Raina of The Garden of Yum. Congratulations on your $45 gift certificate to CSN. 
Ube Pancakes, original recipe – Peanut Butter Pancakes
My substitutions:
Replace the peanut butter with ube jam
Substitute the egg with 3 tbsp egg white (this was all I had available)
Substitute the milk with light coconut milk
Use only one tbsp canola oil (you can probably omit all together – I plan to next time)
Tagged: , ,

§ 40 Responses to >Fluffy Ube Pancakes (and the Winner to My Giveaway)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Fluffy Ube Pancakes (and the Winner to My Giveaway) at Sweet Shanti.

meta

