>Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Cookies

January 30, 2011 § 38 Comments

>

As I glanced at my phone I had the realization that I am beginning to forget some of my friends’ maiden names. Have they been married that long already? Really, where does the time go? It’s funny the things we just assume to remember for ever. I remember when I first began to forget some of my high school teachers’ names. They used to be such big figures in my life, I wondered is it possible that the impressions they’ve left on my life have become faceless, nameless people. When I got married about a year and a half ago I was quick to change my name on everything and even get a new email address. I see now why some of my friends had such a hard time letting theirs go.

How is that for a random Sunday thought? My weekend was quiet, in case you couldn’t tell, and a lot of time was spent indoors. My back has also been hurting more than usual as of late, and I think it might be beginning to affect my being. To make myself feel better I made some chocolate chip macadamia nut cookies – half a batch with semi sweet chips and the other half with white chocolate chips. There isn’t much like the smell of fresh baked cookies to uplift one’s mood, yes? Although the truth is, I won’t be keeping any of them for myself. The white chocolate cookies are for my aunt and the semi sweet are for my mother in law. I’m mailing them out and can’t wait for them to receive their surprise sweets in the mail! So shhh… don’t tell them.

These cookies certainly are beauties in their own right. In the past I was never a fan of white chocolate, but its milky creaminess is beginning to grow on me. Luxurious dark chocolate is still my favorite, but when it comes to chocolate I am an equal opportunity lover. Especially when it comes to cookies – I’ll eat them all!

I used the White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookie recipe on Allrecipes, and followed it exactly – except I split the batch in half to use both types of chocolate chips. They baked up perfectly in 10 minutes 30 seconds. These cookies are delicious but this isn’t my favorite cookie recipe. Having said that, I wouldn’t kick them out of bed!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 38 Responses to >Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Cookies

  • Lisa says:

    >Yum, chocolatey and nutty, just the thing for a good cookie. These look fantastic. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog right now and I'd like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/01/sweets-for-saturday-2.html

  • Medeja says:

    >These cookies look very cute :) pictures are just great

  • Tiffany says:

    >TAY-STEEEEEEE! :) I just saw a white chocolate, coconut, corn flakes bar in the grocery store yesterday…. I'm thinking about making a cookie with it… and your wonderful cookies further inspired me!

  • Foodiva says:

    >I just made macadamia mini-tarts! How is it that you and I both know how to use the best ingredients in our recipes? I can imagine how these cookies must taste – divine!

  • Foodiva says:

    >PS. The post for those tarts are not up yet… Haha, too many things holding me up!

  • >These cookies look perfect for a Sunday night..or any night for that matter!

  • >Cookies ALWAYS make me feel better! These look tasty as always :)I actually never changed my name when I got married–it's always been my name, and I guess I figured, why change it?! I've had such a hard time getting used to my friends' name changes though–sometimes I still slip up and call the by their maiden names!Hope your back feels better! Have a great week :)

  • >It's funny how chocolate can make everything better. We can't get macadamia nuts here, soo jealous. You always want what you can't have, well I do, and I want these cookies!!

  • Tes says:

    >We love macadamia nut… this cookies are gonna be my family favourite :)

  • >What a sweetheart you are! Receiving a gift of your yummy chocolate cookies made your aunt and mother-in-law's week a special one, I'm sure. But you should save some for yourself – might make your back feel better ;) Take care of yourself and have a great week, Roxan!

  • >Roxan, you're a mind reader! These are my absolute FAVORITE kind of cookies, and I love that you're not using the conventional white chocolate chips. Oh, these are seriously calling my name. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! Hope you have a wonderful Monday.

  • Stella says:

    >Hey Roxan, I'm starting to forget the weirdest things too, and I'm in my early thirties. Sometimes I'll remember something in such a faint way that I realize if I didn't remember it just then that I would have lost the memory altogether. You know, lost it completely in the next short span of life. It's alarming…Either way, your cookies look great, and I love good white chocolate. The real stuff is creamy and delicious, indeed;)

  • >Haven't baked cookies for a while :-)) Love the combination of chocolate and macadamia in cookies. Must be really awesome.

  • Trish says:

    >I know…where does time go? I sometimes write only my maiden name – not sure if its out of habit or spite :-) Love your cookies. The macadamia nuts make them extra special!!

  • >Hi Roxan :) It's been too long! Time really does fly – it's not just a cliche, sadly…Glad I dropped by – these cookies look awesome. Whenever I make white chocolate chip cookies, I ALWAYS burn the white chocolate! :P Macadamia nuts are dreamy – I wouldn't kick these out of bed too LOL

  • Sandra says:

    >Oh they sound divine..Love the photos! Nicely done!!

  • Emily says:

    >How to be a good daughter in law and niece 101: A surprise package filled with chocolate chip macadamia nut cookies …hehe!Seriously, this is a killer combination that'd melt everyone's heart…I can imagine it must be difficult to part ways with these cookies….I probably will fail as a good daugther in law / niece and finish these off at a dark corner all by myself, lol

  • polwig says:

    >I love white chocolate macadamia, yummy… I am also one of those ppl that still uses my maiden name and has been married for 7 years and has 3 yo kids. I love my maiden name it is simple but unique my husbands is very popular and I bet I could find at least 5 people in my town with same first and last name, there is a person in our neighborhood with my hubbys name (first and last). I really do not want to give up that uniqueness, at least he is not Smith :)

  • >I discovered these little gems about 20 years ago in Debby Fields store and have never forgotten them. I haven't made them for a while, and I'm glad you reminded me.Sure hope your back is feeling better, there is nothing worse than aches or pain to bring you down. Hang in there!

  • >I would miss you if you didn't post Roxan! Love the cookies, just wait till you can't remember their phone numbers either! LOL Hope you back feels better soon. I know these yummy cookies would make me feel better.-Gina-

  • >These are the all in one cookies for me..chocolate and nuts.I agree that life moves on and sometimes its difficult to keep pace with changes around us.We tend to forget those not infront of our eyes and make new friends.Lovely post.

  • Marisa says:

    >That is so sweet of you to send these out to family. What a great surprise to get in the mail! Dark chocolate is my favorite too but I love all kinds. Both cookies sound delicious!

  • >What a wonderful comfort gift to family! Hope your back gets to feeling better and you can get out for some vitamin D.

  • Rose Silver says:

    >This is so great! I love macadamia nuts combined with chocolates. I make some of these cookies and my kids will surely love these.

  • >I love cookies. Especially if they have nuts and chocolate in them.I will have to make these. Thanks for the recipe, and the awesome pictures of the cookies.

  • briarrose says:

    >Cookies make everything better. :) Macadamia nuts….yum!

  • FOODESSA says:

    >Roxan…seems like your baking is really appealing also…especially with those selected ingredients ;o)Memory…hmmm…what can I add to that. Well, my long term memory is still sharp…my short term (2 minutes ago) is going down the hill. Very frustrating! Did I mention I'm in my young 40s LOLHave a great week,Claudia

  • tigerfish says:

    >I had similar cookies recently but the reverse : Macadamia nuts in chocolate cookies !

  • Monet says:

    >You are so sweet to send these cookies to your family. I'm sure they will be thrilled…I know I would! I have found that my memory is changing too. Some things that I used to think were so important now slip from my mind. Thank you for sharing with me, my sweet friend. I hope you are staying safe and warm. It is even too cold in my part of the country…and I'm in Austin!

  • Jessica says:

    >These sound amazing! Yum!

  • Evan @swEEts says:

    >I love cookies! These sound fabulous.. Mountain Man would love them since he loves pretty much anything with macadamia nuts in them! I'm sure your family is going to love them as well..I mean, who doesn't like getting cookies!?

  • aipi says:

    >Gorgeous cookies! Would love to have one with my cup of coffee!:)US Masala

  • Jenn says:

    >Yes, I will take a full plate of them..thank you!! OMG those look so wonderful!!

  • >These are a weakness of mine… Mac & cookies… no you done, done it….. I used to salivate walking by a Ms Fields.. They look super soft, and gooey inside, my kind of cookie.

  • Hyosun Ro says:

    >You are so nice to bake all those cookies for the relatives. They look great. I love chocolate chip (white and dark) cookies with any kind of nuts.

  • >i love chocolate but the white one just in cookies/cakes. i keep asking myself why. anyhow, your cookies look so good. wonder if i give you my mailing address you'd send me some, hmm, not a bad thought. p.s. i have a problem remembering phone numbers, i don't even know the house # by heart :(( have a wonderful Thursday Roxan

  • >I always love nuts in my cookies and this recipe is perfect for our valentines party with my friends. Thanks for the recipe.

  • >It's nice to have a cuppa with a delicious cookie and chocolate and macademia nut sounds like perfect one :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Cookies at Sweet Shanti.

meta

