>A Christmas Weekend and Fleur de Sel Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookies

December 28, 2010 § 51 Comments

>

I love tastes and textures that oppose one another – salty sweet is one of my favorites. I think that’s why bacon chocolate has become so popular; it takes salty sweet and tops it with the novelty of bacon. Last Wednesday I was making some treats to take home to my in-laws’ with me, including the cranberry chocolate chips above. Right before popping them into the oven, I decided to sprinkle a little fleur de sel on top of each cookie. I was really happy with the results – there was sweet from the cookie, salty from the salt, and also tart from the cranberries. The cookies also baked perfectly, with crispy edges and chewy centers.

Despite the cookies pictured above I did in earnest try to start out my Christmas weekend as healthy as possible. I know, how silly of me. I started out on Christmas Eve morning with a quick breakfast of black coffee and some Puffins (my favorite cereal) before heading out to the yoga studio I practice at when I visit with my in-laws. From there, it quickly went downhill and never recovered. After lunch we wanted some ice cream, but nothing was open so we ended up at Marie Callender’s. Naturally I had to get a slice of pie and a pumpkin spice muffin… and a glass of wine.

The rest of the weekend was filled with food, food, and more food. The picture below is part of our Christmas spread. This is exactly what I love about spending the holidays with my in-laws! There is always tons of food, laughter, and love. We started eating at noon… and it just kept going through dinner. I would be lying if I said I didn’t take a nap in the middle of that.

And since that obviously wasn’t enough food, Eric and I attended another party yesterday that one of our friends was gracious enough to host. However, after the deadly combination of putting gym-rats, yogis, a circus artist (yes really), and a cross-fit owner in one room along with a bit of alcohol we ended up with a handstand contest that went horribly awry (For a bit of entertainment you can watch here, and I wholeheartedly encourage you to do so… but don’t fret, everyone is ok). Merry times indeed! This party will be a memorable one, complete with a white elephant gift exchange made with leftover gifts, a shake weight, taboo, and reindeer brains.
I have included a few photos below but if you are friends with me on Facebook I invite you to view the rest of my album here.
I think this will be my last cookie post for a while so I’m glad that this is a good one. They went over really well with Eric’s family, and my friends too (I saved half the dough to make at yesterday’s party). I followed the recipe, but left out the nuts, replaced half the chocolate chips with dried cranberries, and sprinkled some fleur de sel on top of each cookie before baking. Also, the recipe states it makes 2 dozen cookies but I found that it made 1 dozen really huge cookies, and 2 dozen regular sized cookies (so you can likely get 4 dozen regular sized cookies out of the batch)
Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 51 Responses to >A Christmas Weekend and Fleur de Sel Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >A Christmas Weekend and Fleur de Sel Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookies at Sweet Shanti.

meta

