>Bar Cookies Galore – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies

December 23, 2010 § 27 Comments

>

It seems the baking bug has come back to get me. I had it earlier this year, when I vowed to use my KitchenAid mixer at least once a week to create a delicious baked good. It had a nice run, but eventually I had to put that project on the backburner as all my clothes began to mysteriously shrink. But then the holidays began to roll around and I started baking again  – isn’t baking a rule around this time of year? I’ve brought in treats to work, sent sent off with Eric to work, and given them out as gifts. With Christmas coming up this weekend I wanted to bake a couple more sweet treats (by the way, did you know you can type ‘sweet treats’ with just one hand?) but was going back and forth on it since I’ve been pressed for time.

When I came across this recipe on Wilde in the Kitchen yesterday I knew that these were the perfect treat to take to my in-laws with me. Peanut butter and chocolate – the most heavenly combination. I loved the way the chocolate chips smiled at me, comfortable in their beds of peanut butter coziness. It also helped that I had all the ingredients on hand – I was looking for that so I wouldn’t have to squeeze a trip to the market.  I am so glad I came across these brownies (or should I say tan-ies?). They are fluffy, chewy, and absolutely delicious.

I mentioned in my last post the amazing storm that passed through Mammoth Mountain last week. Here on the west coast we have been getting completely pounded with rain and in the Sierras that means a massive amount of snow. At the time of my post they had received over 10 feet of snow in just a few days, but since then the storm total has reached over 16 feet, making Mammoth the current ski resort with the most snow in the world. It was a historic snow storm and I feel very lucky to have been there and experience it first hand. It truly was awe-some.

I wanted to share the two photos above with you – some of you may already have seen it posted on my Facebook profile. The one on the left was snapped just a few weeks ago – it’s the well recognized Mammoth sign at the peak that is often featured in pictures. The one on the right was snapped yesterday by an employee of the mountain, almost completely buried by the snow. The Sierras do normally get an abundant amount of snow every year, but it’s unheard of for the snow to be that high this early in the season. It is going to be a long and memorable season, indeed.
If you would like to make these peanut butter bars (and please do! You will love them) please use the link I have provided above as I have not changed any of the ingredients. I did though, double the ingredients and use a 9×13 pan. They were perfectly baked at 25 minutes.
Tagged: , , , ,

§ 27 Responses to >Bar Cookies Galore – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies

  • Sandra says:

    >Roxan those are amazing looking cookies! And the photos are fantastic! 10 feet of snow? OMG…that is a lot snow:))

  • Debbie says:

    >Peanut Butter and Chocolate are my favorite combo, these look delicious and I am sure your in-laws will love them! Happy Holidays!

  • ravienomnoms says:

    >What adorable cookies, I love them Roxan! I am totally jealous of the mountain adventure! I haven't been out this year yet and it is killing me! haha Happy Holidays Roxan!

  • >And there was me thinking that we had got alot of snow!!!!!Love peanut butter and chocolate – lucky in-laws!!Happy Christmas

  • >I love that you cut them into shapes! Thanks for the shout out and I'm glad to hear they turned out so well!

  • Michael Toa says:

    >peanut butter and chocolate? now, that's a combo! I've been eating a lot this holiday season and skipped the gym because of the snow and I can feel my clothes are shrinking… :(

  • >Wow…that's an amazing amount of snow! I like that you showed the two pictures with the sign side by side for comparison. Those cookies look fantastic! Initially I though those were raisins. Looks like you are all set for the festivities. Merry Christmas to you and your hubby!

  • >I've got the baking bug this time of year, too! It's fun to get caught up in the season, isn't it? And I couldn't agree more about chocolate + peanut butter…BES combination ever.

  • TiffKey says:

    >I love the shapes! How festive! And mmmmm…. peanut butter :D

  • Foodiva says:

    >Wow, that's a LOT of snow! I can hardly see the sign… As for all the baking, I know what you mean. If my clothes hadn't started to ehem, shrink, I wouldn't stop either! That's why I run and climb hills constantly, as much as I bake, in fact. Your in-laws will love these PB Choc cookies, I'm sure. I would love the sock one in my stocking, thanks! ;-)

  • Annie says:

    >That is a heck of a lot of snow! I'm just glad that it's not here. The brownies look delicious and so cute! Have a happy holiday!

  • >I'm so jealous of all your snow…and delicious looking cookies!

  • Cake Duchess says:

    >Love the snow photos (a little envious;) Gorgeous bars and such cute shapes! Happy Holidays Roxan:)

  • >Happy Holidays.. I am not a skier.. I am a girl who falls.. broke my knee twice skiing.. I kinda gave up after that.. but bring on the sleds.

  • >These look really yummy, I was looking for cookie recipe to bake for the kids next door, (as my clothes have mysteriously shrunk too!)this looks perfect.. We are having a Japanese themed Christmas Eve Dinner..doing avocado sushi maki and finally bought some miso paste so making your miso ramen can't wait! Happy Holidays!!

  • Chef Dennis says:

    >your cookies sound delicious, peanut butter and chocolate are just a perfect combination! Please keep all the snow!! We had way too much last year….sigh, it's hard to imagine you got that much snow already in the mountains. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season!Buon Natale!Dennis

  • Adora's Box says:

    >Hi Roxan! Love your PB brownies. Yes, proudly bring to the in-laws. Excited for you for your Philippine trip. Good idea to eat manggoes every day. Lots of other food. Look out for Banchetto in Pasig_open air, all night, food fest. How's that sound? Don't miss the malls! It's good to shop there. Hope you have lots of fun. Happy Christmas!

  • >The stocking shaped cookies looks soo adorable.I dont like peanut butter much but choco chips are more than enough for me in these cookies.you seem to be a very cute grl with vows as using kitchen aid once a week…LOL!!Tht snow pic is breathtaking n slightly frightening..too cold.Wish you the best for holidays!,,

  • tigerfish says:

    >I would love to pack some of those cookies when I head to the ski fields :)

  • Marisa says:

    >Merry Christmas, Roxan! These cookies sound great, and I'm with you on using what's on hand–especially during the holidays. I look for any excuse to not have to go into any grocery stores around this time they are just too crazy!

  • lena says:

    >hello roxan,thanks for coming by my blog. I'm glad that i've come to know you..you have lots of wonderful dishes here..pb and chocolate are perfect combination..merry christmas!! & i'm your new follower.

  • Leanne says:

    >Oohh these look so amazing. PB and chocolate are so fantastic combined together. i'm fighting the urge to make them omgrightnow.I hope you had a very merry christmas!

  • Monet says:

    >The shapes are just adorable…and who doesn't just love peanut butter and chocolate? I know that I do! I want to make these with my niece tomorrow. She would love them too! I hope you have a wonderful week, my friend. Many blessings as the new year approaches. Thank you for sharing this sweetness!

  • >Holy cow~ we have 10 inches of snoe and no one can function! The cookie bars looks delightful and something my kids would be thrilled to eat!

  • >Roxan, wishing you & your family a very Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year. Hope you're having a marvellous time & enjoy the holiday. God bless you all. Btw, is it possible to FedEX all the X'mas goodies over? hehe….Best wishes, Kristy

  • >That is one of the best combinations…chocolate and peanut butter heaven :)Wow look at all that snow…I am so glad the rain has stopped at least for awhile :)

  • >Thanks for sharing this….this is going to be a fun mother-daughter project for us. In Feb though…trying to not bake this month :). Will make your teriyaki steamed salmon though this week for munchkin.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Bar Cookies Galore – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies at Sweet Shanti.

meta

