>Merry Arfmas – Dog Biscuits, Two Kinds

December 9, 2010 § 22 Comments

>

Pulling out of my parking garage I knew instantly that it would be a trek getting to the restaurant. Cars were backed all the way up my street, meaning it would take a good ten minutes just to get to the freeway (less than a mile away). I glanced down at my navigation, which estimated the travel time as 1 hour, 25 minutes – my heart sank. Even for LA standards this is really bad. Peace, peace, peace – I reminded myself of my theme from the weekend (see previous entry) and tried to calm myself. Inching along the freeway, I felt my chest tighten – thought about throwing a temper tantrum and turning around to go back home, but I had biscuits and gifts to deliver. Breathe

Drive time – 1 hour and 15 minutes. Ten minutes quicker than estimated, but still about 45 minutes longer than necessary. It was well worth it though, to see six smiling and beautiful faces when I walked in – including one glowing mom-to-be with a due date of Christmas (yes friends, she is full term and still made it out to dinner. And I’m complaining about traffic?). Dinner with girlfriends – it’s good for the soul. I was instantly comforted as I settled in and started catching up and jumping in on the random conversations.

I got the idea from one of my friends. Last year, he didn’t know what to get me for my birthday so he got Nala a bag full of toys and treats. I remember how excited I was over this gift, and thought about how pet owners enjoy receiving gifts for their pets more than they do to receive gifts for themselves. This year, I wanted to be a little creative for Christmas gifts, so I baked up two batches of dog treats to give to my friends. My friends were all excited to receive these treats, and I think I can say that the dogs were too? Look how good they are though, patiently waiting for the go ahead to eat their biscuits.

[[On a side note, I wanted to mention the one moment of clear calmness I felt on the drive over to dinner – I switched over to KDAY and Wu-Tang’s C.R.E.A.M. followed by Method Man’s What the Bloodclot began to play. I know, not peaceful songs in the least, nor are they a very “me” songs, but it brought me back to high school and I found myself completely at ease. It’s amazing how a bit of nostalgia – no matter how random – can be so comforting, yes?]]

Natalie’s Dog Barney (as in Barney Stinson. Legen – wait for it – dary!)
Katie’s pups, Bella, Hapa, and Darla
Angie’s bulldog, Cia
Tanantha’s (of I Just Love My Apron) baby, Bella

Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Biscuits (Inspiration: Allrecipes):
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 eggs
3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
3 tbsp natural peanut butter
Preheat oven to 350. In a stand mixer combine all the ingredients and mix until it comes together as a workable dough. Roll out onto a floured surface about 1/2 inch think, and cut either into pieces or using a cookie cutter. Place onto prepared baking sheet and bake for about 40 minutes, or until the treats are hard.
Peanut Butter Oatmeal Dog Biscuits:
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup natural peanut butter
1 1/4 cups hot water
Follow the instructions above for the peanut butter pumpkin biscuits.
Tagged: ,

§ 22 Responses to >Merry Arfmas – Dog Biscuits, Two Kinds

  • >LOL! I enjoyed your post…traffic. I used to sit in my car doing the math of how much time in a day, week, month and year(s) I spent on the road just to get to work & back. I would need some decompression time when arriving home to settle down. :)I just know my three Corgi kids would luv these biscuits with either the peanut butter OR pumpkin. They're so worth it – thx for the thoughtful post for all fur kids!

  • Rosy says:

    >How awesome! I can't wait to make these for my two pooches.

  • Marisa says:

    >I would eat these biscuits myself lol pumpkin and peanut butter? Sounds good to me! All the dogs look so cute just waiting to eat their biscuits. Great idea!

  • >What a wonderful idea! Homemade dog treats are so much better than the store-bought kind :)Also, in response to your question about icing for the gingerbread cookies, I wanted to let you know what I used (although, unfortunately I didn't measure anything, so my amounts are quite approximate). I used about 3 tablespoons of slightly softened butter, about 1 and a half cups of confectioner's sugar, and a little milk (maybe 1 – 2 TBSP?) I used an electric mixer to beat the butter and sugar first, then added milk a little bit at time until it reached a stiff, but spreadable consistency. Then I loaded it into a ziploc bag and cut the tip off. Sorry for the lengthy response! Hope this helps :)

  • Chef Dennis says:

    >we have two Bernese Mt dogs, they would love those biscuits! Pumpkin and peanut butter sounds like a great combination, my furbabies will thank you!

  • >Those doggies are in for a treat. Katie's pups are so cute with their "bob-like" hair (or should I say fur) style :)

  • Emily says:

    >Man you're creative! I'd never thought of gifting dog treats… let alone bake something for my pals'pooches, hehe! You have inspired me to do the same, and I bet my pals will have a pleasant surprise this year….and their pooches too :)

  • Jason Phelps says:

    >I love the pictures of each of the dogs patiently waiting for the treet. Takes work!My Jack Russell budy Pete always loves it when we make peanut butter treats for him. We haven't done that in a bit. Seems like a good idea.Jason

  • >I don't envy you driving in LA traffic but at least you're well versed in Yoga breathing techniques to help you reduce stress. I just read your previous post where you mentioned doubling up on Yoga sessions and I'm impressed. Does the second hour get a little easier because you're warmed up? Back to this post, I'm going to forward this to my daughter because she has a little Maltese named Marlow and she will love your cookie recipes and photos, too sweet. Take care and try to stay off the fwy,lol:)

  • >1 hr and 15 mins!? oh my, i thought i was bkk with that traffic! thanks for the treats; Bella LOVES them! I was excited to get those treats more than Bella? I hope not haha. I have a secret to tell you – I ate a bit of your cookies – HAHA. It's good, tho! I'm just curious because this is the first time I received homemade dog cookies! I wondered if it tasted like human cookies.Aside that, those doggies are SO adorable! and there's another Bella. haha. My fav would be Cia's pose. It cracked me up. I tried with Bella but didn't work.THANK YOU for thanking of us!

  • >I never even thought of making dog biscuits! My Dog would love them! Just found your blog and I love it! Count me in as a new follower!!Heather McMullinwww.madefamousby.blogspot.com

  • mangocheeks says:

    >I look forward to the day when I have my very own canine friend and spoil it with some home made treats such as these – pumpkin and peanut butter – They GGGGGGreat!

  • >little traffic is about the only thing i appreciate living in a small town. yikes!thanks for sharing the dog biscuit recipes! i'm always looking for new flavors to make for my dog.

  • >Oh my gosh. So precious. The treats and the pups. And your devotion crawling through LA traffic. I got trapped on the 101 today. With no such peaceful thoughts. Great job on those treats! And the delivery.

  • polwig says:

    >All those doggies are so cute… perfect gift… If the traffic persists maybe you should get some books on tape or check out free podcasts on Itunes… I used them for running a lot.

  • Monet says:

    >This is wonderful! We don't have pooches, but my mother-in-law does, and she loves her babies! What a great gift these would be for her and her animals. I know she would be just tickled. I love the cookie cutters you found too! As for traffic…I'm feeling you. Austin may not be as bad as LA, but it is close! Thank you so much for sharing with me today. I hope you have a joyful weekend!

  • Stella says:

    >Hey Roxan! I am so bookmarking this, so that I can make these for my Mom's Claudie boy. Thanks for such a cool recipe. Now Claude will get a Christmas present too;-)

  • >Ahh cute doggie photos! Will be making these for my dog Rufus this Christmas, very excited for him..!

  • >Have friends with dogs and will pass on this recipe…they seem almost good enough for humans – perhaps with some sugar :)

  • >The dogs are so cute with their treats! This is such a great gift idea.

  • >I have long wanted to make doggie biscuits and just never found the right recipe – now I have! Thank you for sharing!!

  • >I never miss LA traffic, not that it's so great in OC but nothing like LA :(What wonderful treats, I am sure Koko would love these :) Fun pics of all the pups :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Merry Arfmas – Dog Biscuits, Two Kinds at Sweet Shanti.

meta

