>Yoga Break: Bharadvaja’s Twist, Intention – Peace

December 7, 2010 § 19 Comments

>

I’d like to take a quick break from food (although there is a photo of a pear below, does that count?) and talk about one of my other loves. Last weekend was definitely Bruin themed but it was also filled to the brim with yoga. I started off on Friday with a home practice. On Saturday, Eric was working so I found myself with an empty day to fill as I pleased. I decided to double up with classes at my om away from omYogis Anonymous. It is challenging to do three full hours of yoga, but it still left me feeling refreshed and invigorated. Sunday found me back at the Promenade again, ready for more. This time I visited my other studio, the beautiful Yogaco, for class with my friend Jennifer.

Yogis Anonymous – Before my second class
At the beginning of class, teachers often give us students a moment to set an intention for class. That could be anything – a word, a thought, an emotion, etc. (I promise it’s not as cheesy as it sounds) In the past I have thought about things I want to nurture or let go, or sent out positive energy to those who are going through hard times. On Saturday, I chose the word peace. Peace – partly for the holiday season, as it is a strong theme that carries us through the holidays, but also because it is something I would personally like to cultivate more of. Throughout the three hours of practice I periodically came back to this thought of peace. Sometimes, I would just internally repeat the word to myself, and other times I thought about how I could encourage more of it within myself.
Asian pear from the Santa Monica Farmers market;
A snack between classes
I decided to keep this same intention of peace in Sunday’s class. And what a good decision that was. Usually when I am in class everything else melts away and I can just focus on the practice. On Sunday though, my neighbor was, albeit unintentionally, encroaching on the peaceful space that I was trying to create. A vigorous practice, I get that – one of the reasons I practice yoga is for the physical benefits; strength, flexibility etc – but this was just frantic and I could feel this frenzy seeping over on to my mat. I began to feel agitated and thought about moving my mat to another side of the room, but I didn’t want to disrupt the class and reminded myself that I was here to practice peace. So I repeated it to myself – peace, peace, peace. Eventually, it melted away (either that or he settled down) and I found that peaceful place. It happened so organically that I didn’t even notice it happening – rather, I noticed it later as I looked back on that class.
Yogaco – snapped after my class on Sunday 
The photos I’ve posted at the beginning and end of this entry are of me in Bharadvaja’s Twist. They should be mirror images so one is of me twisting left and the other is twisting right. It is a bound pose, meaning that I am ‘binding’ myself into a pose by grabbing my hands or feet. They are active and help me pull myself deeper into a pose, but I also find them to be calming and relaxing. I actually just learned this one on Saturday and instantly fell in love with it. There is just so much going on in there, but when I get there, sit in it, and be, I really do find a moment of peace. (PS If you’d like to learn this pose here is a quick video you can take a look at LINK)
Tagged: ,

§ 19 Responses to >Yoga Break: Bharadvaja’s Twist, Intention – Peace

  • >Peace is a perfect theme to hold in mind during the holidays. I'm going to start right now! I'm also going to make time for yoga this weekend. It's been too long!

  • kirbie says:

    >Great photo of you in the pose and a lovely post.

  • >Beautiful and Peaceful post Roxan! Wow 3 hours of Yoga in a row, the most I've managed was 1.5 hours. I do love all the serenity I get from Yoga. I'm really bad because my practice is inconsistent. My Yoga studio closed down and I haven't found a new one close by yet, so I do home practice which is harder for me. I love your first photo, very beautiful.

  • polwig says:

    >Fun… I hope you could move the next day after 3 hours of yoga.. I miss yoga used to practice a lot in Chicago but when I moved to Virginia I could not find practice I liked, especially one semi close to my house. Maybe I should look again or at least do a couple sun salutations a day, thank you for the reminder ;)

  • Tanantha P. says:

    >I like that word -peace. It gives you a powerful feeling. I tried yoga once with my mom (she's so good and does it every day for her health). I, on the other hand, bail out on yoga. haha. Love your yoga posts!

  • sweetlife says:

    >peac in a wonderful word, on the holidays our very worlds are just too hectic..peace, peace, peace…great post..sweetlife

  • Kristen says:

    >Ah, peace. We all need more of it. Thanks for a relaxing post.

  • Stella says:

    >Hey Roxan! I've been thinking about taking a yoga class here, but all of the places that offer it here seem so commercial like and tacky. Hopefully, I'll find one that encompasses all that I associate with yoga:)Your class sounds awesome, and your pictures here are great. Even thought you found that peaceful place, I would still avoid said neighbor next time;)

  • Stella says:

    >Oh, and, yes, it's so cold down here in South Florida now. Apparently, this is not a regular thing!

  • >Love yoga…I do some basic Asanas yoga…should really work more on spiritual well being in future.

  • Monet says:

    >Peace. Yes. This is certainly what I need to focus on right now. I need to get back into yoga. Not only does it train the body, but also the mind (which is such an important component to well being!) Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a lovely evening!

  • lequan says:

    >Hi Roxan,Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such a warm comment. As simple as it sounds, peace is actually a hard thing to truly achieve, yet when achieved, it can bring one so much well…peace. Letting your mind just drift and not think about anything is a skill not everybody can perfect. I believe that only qhen you obtain peace, can you truly enjoy happiness. I've never tried yoga before, but have heard such great things about it. Hope you will find a more "peaceful" neighbor next time ;-)

  • Cake Duchess says:

    >What a wonderful and relaxing post. You make me want to do a yoga class tomorrow! I will be more peaceful tonight just remembering your words:)That yoga studio looks gorgeous!

  • >I have tried yoga on my own and invested in videos, but really need to find a good instructor to get me started and set on the right path. An amazing discipline. Roxan – so impressive the Bharadvaja Twist that you're in, in that photograph!

  • ~Lisa~ says:

    >I must get back into yoga. I so miss it.

  • Val says:

    >I live for yoga!!! Your blog is great..

  • >Peace is something I definitely need more of. I never considered just focusing on the word, but I think it would work even outside of a yoga practice.

  • Imwaytoobusy says:

    >Oh, I have tried so hard to love yoga! I am the most impatient person in the universe and I never make it past the first round or two, then I try again a few months later :) At least I don't give up I guess. I'd like to know, did you love it immediately or did you warm up to it? It is such a different pace from the exercise I'm used to…Great post!

  • >Well, no wonder you love it.. We used to have Yoga classes at college when I was doing my graduation in Ayurvedic medicine at Kottakkal Ayurveda college,India.. It was real fun n yes refreshing too.. I used to follow it up too but has stopped 4 some time.. guess am getting lazy..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Yoga Break: Bharadvaja’s Twist, Intention – Peace at Sweet Shanti.

meta

