>Pumpkin Cornbread Muffins

November 15, 2010 § 19 Comments

>

“So, how old are you?” I chuckled to myself and responded that I’m 30. “Wow, you’re like, ten years older than me!” That made me want to pat the top of his head. One of the unexpected things I enjoy about snowboarding is chatting with other snow lovers while on the chair lift. It’s like speed dating, “Hi, how are ya, where do you live, have a great day!”, before going on your merry way. In Mammoth, most people will be from LA (this weekend I even met someone who lives just two blocks from me), but from all over the place in terms of life – sometimes you’ll even adorable meet little kids who haven’t reached the age yet where it’s considered rude to ask one’s age. Ah, to be young again!

Oh, this weekend. This weekend was the season opener for Mammoth Mountain. Every year I look forward to this day from the moment I unstrap my snowboard for the last time the previous season. And what an opener this season was. Mammoth opened top to bottom for the first time in 5 years – to compare, sometimes when they open it’s just one measly run of man-made snow surrounded by dirt. The above photo was snapped yesterday afternoon. I’m using it as a baseline to see how much snow they get this season. The photo below was taken a couple seasons ago – there was enough snow for me to sit on top of it. Every so often, there is so much snow in a season that the entire sign gets buried. 
Now about those pumpkin corn bread muffins, don’t they look absolutely delicious? I’ll admit it – they were! I had a Southern themed potluck to attend last Thursday so I decided to make fall themed corn bread. They went quickly and there were no leftovers, if that’s saying anything. These are definitely being added to the menu for Thanksgiving… Which I just realized is next week. Yikes!
Pumpkin Cornbread Muffins:
1 c all purpose flour
3/4 cup yellow cornmeal
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
Preheat oven to 425. In one bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, salt, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg (all the dry ingredients). In another bowl, combine the eggs, pumpkin, and canola oil (the wet ingredients). Slowly add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixing until combined and making sure not to overmix. Pour into a muffin tin sprayed with cooking spray, and bake for about 18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Recipe makes 1 dozen.
Source: Allrecipes
Tagged: , , ,

§ 19 Responses to >Pumpkin Cornbread Muffins

  • ~Lisa~ says:

    >Aww man I wish I was up there with you. 30 you still young grasshopper, hehe. The cornbread looks fantastic. I need to take a trip to the west coast when my love is old enough to ski.

  • Foodiva says:

    >You being 30 and snowboarding is like me being 40 and scuba-diving, white-water rafting and mountain-climbing! The kids just don't get it that age is merely a number, not a barrier :-). Until, of course, the knees get a bit creaky and you start to feel the pain…lol.Mammoth Mountain looks beautiful from your pics and the depth of snow a few seasons ago was wow, incredible! I've never tried snowboarding, the concept didn't exist when I was younger. But I did ski a lot when I lived in Europe as a student and looking at your pictures made me miss the snow and mountains even more!Btw, thanks for your comments on my blog. That tool you asked about is a lemon zester and you can get it on Amazon, just search for this: J.A. Henckels Twin Cuisine Lemon Zester.Ciao bella!

  • >i might have to make these!!

  • Cake Duchess says:

    >You are gorgeous in the snow! And yes, those muffins look appealing. I love cornbread. I mean, reallllly love it. Thinking of pumpkin with cornbread is making me smile. You don't look a day over 20 my dear:)

  • >Your muffins sounds really good. I have been meaning to make some but have yet to find the time. Looks like the snow will be keeping you busy :)

  • >wow, you are 30???? I could have sworn you're 25, or even less. You look amazing in the snow pictures, but so do the cornbread muffins, I love cornbread, can't wait to try your recipe, thanks

  • Judy says:

    >Mammoth… brings back memories from my single and BK (before kids) days. LOL. I'm looking forward to taking my little one once she's old enough to enjoy snow sports. :)Love the pumpkin cornbread muffins!

  • Marisa says:

    >Pumpkin and cornbread are two of my favorites–what a delicious combo! Great idea for Thanksgiving (which I also can't believe is already next week!). The scenery behind you of all the mountains is beautiful–that is a LOT of snow in the second pic–wow!

  • >i love the combo in this cornbread… they do looks so pretty and cute. thanks for sharing this.

  • Emily says:

    >Hi Roxan,Snowboarding sounds like a lot of fun, at least you're distracted temporarily from the fact that Thanksgiving is not too far away. :P I admire your enthusiasim in other activties outside the kitchen. Too bad I haven't got a chance to go to places that I can try snowboarding.I've made plain cornbread once which turned out to be as dry as stale bread. Adding pumpkin puree will moisten the bread. Forget about making the puree from scratch, I'll be looking for the canned version. My hands need to stay flawless until Christmas! haha.

  • Emily says:

    >And thanks for joining my google friend connect. :D

  • Kristen says:

    >It looks like you had so much fun in the snow. I don't think we will see any of the white stuff this year in AZ…El Nina is sending it somewhere else.The muffins sound divine; especially with a little honey drizzled over the top. YUM!

  • Monet says:

    >Hi Roxan!You are making me miss cold weather and Colorado so much. I'm glad you had such a great time…and the little anecdote you opened your post with made me laugh. These muffins sound amazing! Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a wonderful evening!

  • >You;re 30 now? I thought you're 29. Anyway, we're in the same club and are young at heart!Ahhh…saw that cute pic of you on FB! You look happy with the snow! I know the holiday is approaching and wow snowboarding season has begun already. Pumpkin corn bread muffins are just perfect for a Thanksgiving. I need to do something with pumpkins or just follow your recipe :D

  • Evan @swEEts says:

    >I have to try these when we make chili soon! We're going skiing/snowboarding for New Year's and I cant wait.. your post made me even more excited! I had the same age thing happen to me this weekend.. some kid told me and a friend we had to wait till we were older to get married.. when we asked how old is old he said "like 25" haha

  • >Roxan those photos are great, look at all that snow you have to look forward to. It's so great that you can meet so many people on the mountain. I find it funny when I get those remarks from kids. Your Muffins look delicious, I love that combination. ( I made a couple of versions too) Have a blast snowboarding!

  • Mark says:

    >Hey FoodBuzz friend! I love your blog! Nothing like fresh, warm cornbread and butter. Keep up the good work. Visit mine sometime.Mark

  • >These muffins look and sound fantastic! Does the cornmeal add texture?I miss skiing…haven't been in so long, I'd be afraid to get hurt and not recover now {sigh} What a great time of the year for snowboarders and skiiers :)

  • Hyosun Ro says:

    >My daughter made pumpkin muffins yesterday with leftover pumpkin puree and did not like the result. I should tell her about your recipe. I like your idea of cornbread in pumpkin muffins.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Pumpkin Cornbread Muffins at Sweet Shanti.

meta

