>Baked Matcha Korokke (Japanese Croquettes)

November 9, 2010 § 24 Comments

>

After walking Nala, I quickly got to work without even sitting down for a little break. There were onions that needed to be chopped, garlic to be minced, kombu to be soaked, potatoes to be peeled. I started rinsing, peeling, smashing, and cutting. Sometimes I’ll let the tv run in the background but yesterday I worked in silence. This all sounds bleak and ominous, I know, but it’s very much the opposite. I love it. There’s just so much solace I find in our tiny little kitchen (someday I will get the dimensions for you), especially after a long day at work. Often, I refer to my Friday evening yoga practice as my end of the week work detox, and really it is. It is a conscious good-bye to the week and hello to the weekend. Spending time in the kitchen is my daily work detox, letting go of the work day and settling into the evening. 

Yesterday was a special day – it was me and Eric’s 16 month anniversary. I wanted to cook him a special dinner, and with Japanese being his favorite cuisine I knew it was the way to go. I served these kokokke alongside tofu wakame miso soup and a soy-balsamic marinated chicken. It was a fantastic meal, and Eric generously said that this was one of the best ones I had made in a while. I thought it was good too, but I think next time I will fry the korokke as the baked version, while healthier, are just not as good as the traditionally prepared fried ones.

Baked Matcha Korokke (Japanese Croquettes):

3 small potatoes, peeled and quartered
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1 tbsp butter
salt and pepper to taste
pinch of nutmeg
2 tbsp green peas
1 tbsp matcha
1/2 cup flour
1 egg, beaten
1 1/2 cup panko

Place potatoes in boiling water and cook until easily pierced with a toothpick (mine took about 20 minutes). Strain and let cool. Meanwhile, heat the butter in a pan on medium and add the onions. Stir occasionally, and then add the salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Keep cooking until the onions have softened, and add the green peas. Remove from heat. Mash the potatoes and add the matcha and keep mashing and mixing until the matcha is thoroughly combined with the potatoes. Add the onions and mix again.

Preheat oven to 350. Form the potatoes into little patties – I got 8 out of them. Put the flour, egg, and panko into three small dishes, and line them up. One by one, dredge the patties into the flour, egg, and then panko. Place onto an oven safe cooling rack placed on top of a baking sheet. Bake for 25 – 25 minutes.

Source: New Tastes in Green Tea

Tagged: , , ,

§ 24 Responses to >Baked Matcha Korokke (Japanese Croquettes)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Baked Matcha Korokke (Japanese Croquettes) at Sweet Shanti.

meta

