>Matcha Gnocchi Casera

September 28, 2010 § 23 Comments

>



When we first arrived in Buenos Aires it was too early to check in to our room, so we asked the girl at the front desk what there was to do within walking distance and if there are any restaurants she could recommend. She named off a few restaurants, including one she said had really good pasta. I found that to be a bit odd, but later learned that Argentina has a strong Italian culinary influence. Pizza and pasta restaurants are bountiful, and pages of menus are dedicated to both at almost every other restaurant. When it comes to pasta, pasta casera is what to look out for on the menu – it signifies that the pasta is housemade. Gnocchi, or ñoquis in Argentina, is one of their most common pastas. In celebration of my wonderful trip to Argentina I made my own gnocchi, albeit a little different than what you’d find down there but delicious nonetheless. 

But first, last week I mentioned that I would be posting photos from my trip. I wanted to post some highlights here, but I’m feeling a bit lazy so I invite you to take a look at the Facebook album I posted instsead. I tried to be descriptive in the captions, but if you have any questions please let me know. Here is the public link:.

It’s no secret that matcha (green tea powder) is one of my favorite ingredients; perhaps it is my favorite ingredient of all. I love the beautiful color it adds to everything, as well as the earthy flavor it brings to the table – not to mention its wonderful health benefits and antioxidant properties! I wanted to learn more about this special ingredient, and green tea in general, so recently I purchased New Tastes in Green Tea. This is a great resource for anyone who has an interest in green tea, with informative chapters on the different types of green tea and how to properly prepare them as well as a brief history. But! On top of that there is a section of recipes that covers a range from smoothies and cocktails to savory dishes and desserts. How fortuitous that there is a recipe in the book for green tea gnocchi. Oh lovely day! What an enchanting dish for me to commemorate me and my husband’s amazing vacation.
I tried making this gnocchi last night but it turned into a disgusting gloppy mess so I dumped the whole thing into the trash. I immediately put it behind me and vowed to make it again tonight, properly. I read up a little on how to make perfect gnocchi and came home feeling confident. So glad I gave it another shot! These gnocchi turned out chewy and delicious… They didn’t turn out the vibrant green I am used to but I used a different matcha brand than usual. But it’s the taste that’s most important right? And delicious it was indeed.
Matcha Gnocchi Casera (from New Pastes in Green Tea):
500 grams potatoes (about 4 red potatoes)
salt and pepper
2 tbsp butter
1 egg, beaten
50g all purpose flour
50g whole wheat flour
2 1/2 tsp matcha powder
flour for dusting
1 tbsp grapeseed oil
1/2 tbsp salt
2 cloves minced garlic
1/4 cup peas
shaved parmesan cheese
basil for garnish
Cover potatoes in a pot with water and boil until a toothpick can easily be inserted, about 20 minutes. Drain in colander and let cool for 10 minutes, then carefully peel the potatoes. Season the potatoes with salt and pepper, and mash. Then add the beaten egg and continue mixing. Mix the flours with the matcha powder and slowly sift over the potatoes, mixing in between.

Meanwhile, boil a large pot of water and add the tablespoon of oil. Knead the potatoes and flour into a dough. Add more flour if the dough is too sticky – I added a fairly large amount of extra flour. Divide the dough into 4 segments and each segment into a long strip about 1/2 inch wide. Cut into 1 inch segments, and add to the boiling water. After they float to the surface, let them boil for another minute and then remove.

In a pan, heat grapeseed oil and add the garlic until fragrant. Remove from heat, add the peas and gnocchi and toss. Top with parmesan and garlic.

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 23 Responses to >Matcha Gnocchi Casera

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Matcha Gnocchi Casera at Sweet Shanti.

meta

