>Matcha Mochi Cupcakes with Anko (Red Bean Paste) Filling

August 2, 2010 § 22 Comments

>

Mochiko… It’s an ingredient I was just recently introduced to. Where has it been all my life? There are just so many wonderful things that can be made with this special ingredient. It’s funny, I grew up eating mochi and other rice cakes made with mochiko but had no idea what it was. All I knew was that it was made from rice and always wondered how the texture of the cake was so smooth. Were cooked grains of rice pressed together so hard that all the air between the grains was squeezed out? Where did all the lumps go? How did they do it?! Oh now it makes sense. Rice flour. Such a simple answer… But I can be pretty dense at times, it’s true. In high school I asked my friend how 1-800-DENTIST made money. Really. Bless her heart, she’s still friends with me. She’s probably even reading this and giggling to herself. Janet, I love you, my friendship boat full of smiles.

I’ve seen a few other foodie bloggers make mochi cupcakes but I wanted to take it a step further. I thought about putting some sort of frosting on top, but couldn’t think of one that would complement the chewiness of the mochi. After mulling it over a bit I decided to do a filling instead, and naturally I turned to a red bean paste. It made the most sense, but maybe I’ll fill it with something else next time. Any suggestions on what to fill it with?
 
I’m not going to lie or be humble with this one. It is delicious! It probably could have been cooked a little longer – I think it would have been a bit chewier – but delicious regardless. I’ve had this in the back of my mind to make for a while but was waiting for the right time (i.e. when I would have help eating them)… but when they were done I thought about keeping the little morsels of heaven all to myself. But I didn’t. :)
Matcha Mochi Muffins with Anko (Red Bean Paste) Filling:
Makes 12 cupcakes
1 2/3 cup Mochiko
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup sugar
1 tbsp (or more) matcha
1/4 cup egg beaters
1/3 cup melted butter
1 cup almond milk
1 cup Anko (red bean paste)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, matcha, and sugar. In another bowl, mix together the egg, melted butter, and milk. Slowly stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and mix until incorporated.
In a muffin tin sprayed with cooking spray, spoon batter into each muffin cup about 1/3 full. Then spoon in about 1 to 1/2 tsp anko. Then, top with the remainder of the batter. Bake in preheated oven 25 to 30 minutes.
Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 22 Responses to >Matcha Mochi Cupcakes with Anko (Red Bean Paste) Filling

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Matcha Mochi Cupcakes with Anko (Red Bean Paste) Filling at Sweet Shanti.

meta

