>Whole Wheat Pita Bread with Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

July 13, 2010 § 14 Comments

>

This is the third dish/ snack I prepared for my tea party on Sunday, it has two parts. Originally I had planned on making only some hummus to dip fresh vegetables in, but I thought that my friends would appreciate something a little more substantial since the other dish I had prepared was a produce filled salad, so I decided to try my hand at making pita bread for the first time. I had a great time spending all morning working in the kitchen, tending to all these different parts – proof the yeast for the pita while making the salad dressing, then knead dough and let it rise while working on the batter for the cupcakes, make the frosting while the cupcakes bake etc. Usually when I’m in the kitchen I have the tv on in the living room for background noise, but Eric was out playing basketball and I had gone straight to the kitchen from the bedroom so I worked in silence. It was nice – peaceful – a perfect Sunday morning.

 
Pita bread was something I’ve been meaning to make for a while now but never did until yesterday. I wasn’t putting it off or anything, I just hadn’t gotten around to it. But now that I’ve finally made some myself, I see that what everyone says is true; it really is easy and so much more delicious than store bought. Chances are, I will never buy pita bread again. It was just so warm and fluffy, and there aren’t many things that are as good as fresh out of the oven bread. I didn’t tell my friends that it was homemade, and after tasting it they asked me where I got it so they can go there to get some too — which was probably the biggest compliment I’ve ever gotten on my cooking.
 
Recently I got a new food processor and as I tracked the package from shipping through delivery (I love stalking the tracking on my packages!) I started mentally listing out the things I would be making with it. Naturally hummus landed high on that list. After making some hummus myself, like the pita bread I am probably never going to buy hummus again! It was so good… and there are just so many different combinations in flavors and ingredients. So delicious. I wish I could have some pita with hummus right now!
Whole Wheat Pita Bread (from Allrecipes):
1 1/8 cup of warm water
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 table spoon canola oil
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1 packet active dry yeast
Proof the yeast in the water and sugar for 10 minutes, until frothy. Combine the proofed yeast, water, and sugar with the oil, all purpose flour and whole wheat flour and knead on low for 10 minutes. Transfer to an oiled bowl and let rise in a warm spot for 90 minutes, until doubled. Turn onto a floured surface. Preheat oven to 350 (I just noticed that the original recipe stated 500 degrees but mine turned out fine at 350). Divide the dough into half, and then into quarters so you are left with 8 equal balls of dough. Using a rolling pin roll each ball into a disc about 6 inches in diameter. I found that it helps if you use your hands to shape it into a circle before rolling with the pin and let rise for 30 minutes. Place two pitas on a cake cooling rack and bake for 5 minutes. When done, transfer immediately to a brown paper bag until cooled.
Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (from Allrecipes):
3 minced garlic cloves
1 (15.5 oz) can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1/3 cup tahini
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 medium roasted red bell pepper, cut into pieces
1/4 tsp dried basil
Combine all ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth. When serving top with some olive oil.
Tagged: , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to >Whole Wheat Pita Bread with Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Whole Wheat Pita Bread with Roasted Red Pepper Hummus at Sweet Shanti.

meta

