>Earl Grey Cupcakes with Almond Buttercream

July 12, 2010 § 16 Comments

>

Part two in the tea party series, begin. So all afternoon teas need some sort of baked good, yes? I decided to experiment with earl grey a little more, infusing them into a cupcake. I thought it would be a nice flavor to have at our tea-themed get together. My hurdle came with deciding whether to put the earl grey in the frosting or in the cake itself but after sending a quick email to my friends to see which they would prefer, I went with the cake. I chose an almond buttercream for the frosting because that’s what made the most sense to me – like enjoying an almond biscuit with your cup of tea.

 
For the most part, I was really happy with the way these cupcakes turned out. There was a small issue with the frosting melting whenever I took them out of the fridge, and I couldn’t figure it out until I began writing this entry – I was supposed to add the milk a little at a time until I reached the right consistency. As usual I just read the list of ingredients and went on my merry way assuming I knew what to do with them. I have a bad habit of doing this and quite often get burned because of it! Read all steps, I will repeat that to myself over and over.

Earl Grey Cupcakes ( adapted from Handle the Heat):
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup butter at room temperature
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/2 cup egg white
2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 tbsp earl grey tea leaves, pulverized

Preheat oven to 350. In a bowl whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In stand mixer, cream the sugar, butter, and almond extract. Add eggs one at a time. Alternate between adding the applesauce and flour mixture. Finally, add the earl grey until thoroughly combined. Pour the batter into a prepared muffin tin 3/4 full each. Bake about 20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

Almond Buttercream (from Allrecipes):
1/2 cup butter at room temperature
4 cups confectioners sugar
1 tsp almond extract
1/4 cup soy milk (you can use regular, but I only had soy on hand)

In a stand mixer, cream the butter. Add the sugar and almond extract. Add milk slowly until you reach the desired consistency – you might not use all the milk. Beat until smooth.

Tagged: , ,

§ 16 Responses to >Earl Grey Cupcakes with Almond Buttercream

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Earl Grey Cupcakes with Almond Buttercream at Sweet Shanti.

meta

