>Earl Grey Tea Cookies

July 6, 2010 § 22 Comments

>

So… I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately. There, I said it. I really needed to get that off my chest! Mainly, it’s due to my back. I’ve had a bad back for a couple years now, and it goes through phases where it’ll be even worse for a few days. This time, it’s lasted a couple weeks and still counting. I’m getting to the point where I feel like no amount of chiropractic adjustments, massages, or rest is going to help. What if this is permanent? I am about to turn 30 after all, so someone hand me a cane, some Bengay and a rocking chair please (I jest!). I haven’t even been to yoga in a week and a half now – and that’s a really long time considering I practice an average of 4 to 5 times a week. Sigh… woe is me.

Aaanddddd… yesterday I had this wonderful vegan brownie recipe that I tried out and as all of you have probably (but hopefully not!) experienced – they turned out to be a total failure. They baked and baked but I couldn’t get the consistency to stop resembling the inside of a molten lava cake. ‘Twas not even possible to get them out of the pan because they were such a gloppy mess. I ate some of it with my fingers out of the pan, and they tasted ok… just wouldn’t bake through for some reason. I will re-try this recipe in the future.
 
With all of this funkiness going on, I decided to make something I was sure would make me feel better, even if only for a few minutes – earl grey tea cookies! I usually try to make healthy substitutions where possible but this time I wanted to make a full fat, full sugar, and completely delicious sweet treat. They were perfection and exactly the indulgence I needed. I might not be able to get back on the mat just yet, but at least my taste buds got to do a little jig today.
Earl Grey Tea Cookies (from The Kitchn):

makes one dozen

1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 tablespoon Earl Grey tea leaves, pulverized (I used the contents of 3 Trader Joe’s Earl Grey tea bags)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon water
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

Cream together butter and granulated sugar, and then the confectioners’ sugar. Slowly add the flour, salt, and tea leaves. Add vanilla and water, and let mix until thoroughly combined. Shape the dough into a disc, wrap in saran wrap and refrigerate for at least half an hour. Pre heat oven to 350 and roll out the dough to about 1/4″. Cut out dough in desired shape and lay onto greased baking sheet. Bake for about 12 minutes, until edges are browned.

Tagged: , ,

§ 22 Responses to >Earl Grey Tea Cookies

  • ~Lisa~ says:

    >Lovely! And I love Earl Grey tea! Nice job.

  • Monet says:

    >My mom has a bad back…I'm so sorry it has been making you feel yucky. These cookies look so beautiful though!

  • Rick says:

    >I get back pains too. They suck because they prevent you from doing just about everything. I found yoga and pilates help it a lot. The cookies look great though!

  • sweetlife says:

    >great cookies, love the spotted color, sorry about your back pain it really sucks, I threw my back out when we were redoing our hardwoood floors, man i felt horrible and so useless, take caresweetlife

  • >Earl grey is a favorite of mine…and then flavoring them in a delicious cookie form? So dangerous – I know I will luv these. Already saved to my recipe file. Thanks for sharing and hope you're feeling better!! :)

  • >Hope your back pain goes away soon! Even though we're about to hi 30 but we're young at heart Rox! :) I had a kitchen disaster too. Nothing is perfect. It takes time to practice. I'm sure even a professional chef still needs a practice (?)Cookies look great! Love you added earl tea on them! Oh, I also like you decided to put more photos on your blog. They look great.

  • >Hi Roxan, your cookies are beautiful, I love anything with Earl Gray tea and of course they are so cute and delicious looking. I'm sorry to hear about your back pain, I had the same problems for years when I was younger but since I have been a regular follower of Pilates my back has been so much better I can't even tell you the good results I have gotten. I do Pilates exercises every week and it's the only thing that ever helped my back. Good luck, I hope you feel better.

  • >Sorry to hear about your back, I hope the pain will go away soon. By the way, the cookies looks scrumptious, great idea with the Earl Grey tea.

  • Le says:

    >Aww I'm sorry to hear you've had a crappy couple of days…weeks. I hope your back gets better soon! The cookies look great, I've never made some with tea before! Looks yummy :)

  • >I think you've just made earl grey the next matcha LOL These are beautiful! Love the speckles look and flower shape. I bet they smelt and tasted divine!Hope you back irons itself out soon. Back pain is a huge downer :(

  • Danelle says:

    >Ah, I remember feeling the same way when I was about to turn 30. That was 10 years ago, and my advice is to at least keep the Bengay handy and continue the practice of making yummy cookies to cheer yourself up! :)

  • mangocheeks says:

    >Sorry to read about your back pains.I've only ever drunk earl grey grey, never in a cookie. These not only sound lovely, they look great!

  • Jen Cheung says:

    >please feel better! really hope your back pains goes away. when I sit here for long hours in front of the computer I get neck/back pain and its weird because I'm only 21 this year too. I need to get some excerising going i guess. you take good care of urself :) have a lovely day girl.jen

  • Spice Sherpa says:

    >So sorry about your back–that must be frustrating especially since you've tapped out all the suggestions (yoga, chiropractic, etc.). But wow, your cookies are beautiful and with Earl Grey. Nothing like a quality cup of good black tea.The shape is so pretty and they look capable of cheering someone up!

  • >Hope your back is feeling better soon. The cookies look wonderful!

  • >Hope your back feels better soon:) Great cookie recipe, earl grey is what I drink every mornign and your cookies would be great for an all earl grey feast. Thanks for sharing.

  • >These cookies look and sound amazing, and would be perfect for a little afternoon tea party with the girls. :) I hope your back feels better soon, maybe it will cheer you up to let you know I left you a Sunshine blog award on my site! Come check it out! :)

  • Chef Dennis says:

    >First of all your cookies are gorgeous, and sometimes we need all the sugar and fat just for some comfort!I certainly understand pain it can be so debilitating, I have herniated discs from all my years of wrestling and karate…..getting old sucks..lol…but I have had a lot of success with acupuncture and herbs where chiropractic had no success…..just a thought I hope you feel betterDennis

  • Kristan says:

    >These cookies sound so good! I love tea, love cookies, and these combine both!Sorry to hear about your back…one of the best things I ever did for my neck/back was to invest in a good memory foam topper for my mattress and a good down pillow. Makes a WORLD of difference.

  • >I am so sorry about your back, I hope you are feeling better…These cookies look so great though:)

  • Anna's Table says:

    >I actually bought some good quality Earl Grey to make cookies and never got around to making them. I was also going to make a batch with lavender tea, which by the way is still sitting in my cupboard. Thanks for the reminder. Your cookies look divine. Have a great week-end!

  • Now Serving says:

    >That looks amazingly tempting! first time on your blog – Lovely blog

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Earl Grey Tea Cookies at Sweet Shanti.

meta

