>Vegan Banana Oatmeal Bread

June 21, 2010 § 15 Comments

>

We buy bananas almost weekly since they make a great grab-and-go breakfast. Lately, I’ve found myself buying extra bananas so they can ripen throughout the week and be transformed into delicious cookies or breads. How ripe do you like your bananas when making baked goods? I like mine so ripe that they fall apart when I peel them. I’ll put on a meat glove (more on those another day) and hand mash them, squeezing away with them oozing through my fingers. Some people like to have the bananas completely incorporated – I like to leave mine chunky so there are little pockets of sweet deliciousness throughout the bread.
Speaking of a little pocket of sweet deliciousness… As I sit here settling into my day with a piece of banana bread and a cup of tea, I just received an email from one of my close girlfriends that she’s engaged! Sweet pocket of deliciousness, indeed. I’ve known her for about 12 years now and her fiance for about 16, as he is the older brother of one of my best friends. So, in a way she will become my sister-in-law also. Congratulations, S+D! Love love love.


Vegan Banana Bread:
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
4 very ripe bananas, mashed
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1 cup soy milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In one bowl, mix together the whole wheat flour, rolled oats, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. In another bowl, mix together the bananas and soy milk. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Let sit for 10 minutes before pouring mixture into a 9×5 inch loaf pan and baking for 40 to 45 minutes.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 15 Responses to >Vegan Banana Oatmeal Bread

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Vegan Banana Oatmeal Bread at Sweet Shanti.

meta

