>Very Berry Whole Wheat Crepes

June 13, 2010 § 21 Comments

>

Berries, I love. Berry season, I love. I can eat them by the handful, I can eat them by the bowlful. When my sister visited last week I had planned to make crepes on Sunday morning but when it came we were still sweetly stuffed from all the food the before. So, all week I had crepes on my mind, crepes on my mind. When Friday rolled around I visited the farmers market by my work and picked up a basket trio of beautiful organic strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries. Juicy plump heavenly sweetness.
My daily alarm went off this morning. I snoozed 6 times, not because I was avoiding anything, but because I could. The next time my alarm went off I dismissed the alarm and rolled up in my blanket for even more delicious slumber. Eventually, I opened my eyes, stretched my arms above my head, and did a couple supine spinal twists as I do every morning. I hopped out of bed and thought, ‘It’s crepe time!’ Usually I’ll ask my husband what he wants for breakfast, or at least if he’s ok with what I have in mind, but not this morning. If he wasn’t in the mood for crepes, then I would have been fine with that because it would mean more for me. But he was so I happily shared with him, and he happily ate them.


Very Berry Whole Wheat Crepes:
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup egg white
1/4 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup water
1/8 tsp salt
1 tbsp butter melted
1/2 cup chopped strawberries
1/2 cup blueberries
1/2 cup blackberries
Very berry compote (Recipe below)
A bit of powdered sugar

In a bowl stir together the egg white, coconut milk, water, and butter. In another bowl mix together the salt and flour. Gradually add the liquid mix into the flour mix, and beat until smooth. Heat a griddle sprayed with cooking spray to medium-low heat. Pour the batter, about 1/4 cups per crepe, tilting the griddle in a circular motion to spread out the batter evenly. Cook 2-3 minutes each, flipping over when it’s almost cooked through. Remove from heat. Fill with the fresh berries and top with compote. Sift powdered sugar on top.

Very berry compote:
1/2 cup chopped strawberries
1/2 cup blueberries
1/2 cup blackberries
1/4 cup sugar
A couple shakes of ground cinnamon
A squeeze or two of fresh lemon juice

Heat a small pot to medium. Add all the ingredients and cook until the berries are cooked through.

Tagged: , ,

§ 21 Responses to >Very Berry Whole Wheat Crepes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Very Berry Whole Wheat Crepes at Sweet Shanti.

meta

