>Chocolate Cupcakes with Matcha Cream Cheese Frosting

May 24, 2010 § 29 Comments

>

Chocolate Cupcakes with Matcha Cream Cheese Frosting:

Chocolate Cupcakes from Allrecipes.com (I didn’t alter the recipe at all – except that I used soy milk in place of regular).

Matcha Cream Cheese Frosting (from Kitchen Slave):
1 Eight oz package cream cheese
1/2 stick butter
3 cups sifted powdered sugar
2 tablespoons matcha green tea powder
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Bring cheese and butter to room temperature. Beat butter and cheese at medium speed until creamy and smooth. Add half of the powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon of green tea powder, and the vanilla. Beat until combined. Gradually add remaining sugar (more if you have to) until you get to the consistency and sweetness you like. Add more green tea powder if you’d like a stronger matcha taste.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 29 Responses to >Chocolate Cupcakes with Matcha Cream Cheese Frosting

  • Kait says:

    >The ring my grandmother gave me is sitting in a jewel box. I don't think I've ever worn it out because I don't want to lose it. I'm glad to read you took the bracelet out for a spin. Thank you for sharing your story. The matcha green tea powder really adds a wonderful color to the frosting.

  • Rick says:

    >I really really really really want this frosting. I could eat that and nothing else. It looks so good!

  • Chef Dennis says:

    >I love the colour the Matcha gives teh frosting!! I bet they tasted wonderful!I also enjoyed the story about the bracelet from your grandmother..thanks for sharing!Dennis

  • Biren says:

    >Thanks for sharing the story about your grandma and bracelet. Reminds me of the ring my grandma gave me.I love that matcha frosting! What a wonderful color and I am sure it must be delicious!

  • Judy says:

    >Sounds like a lovely bracelet, definitely worthy of celebrating milestones. :) Love the cupcakes, especially the frosting… can you please send me a few? LOL.

  • Momgateway says:

    >I enjoy the taste of matcha so the icing must be soo.. good

  • JillyAn says:

    >I very much enjoyed your story. I have my grandmother's "mother's ring" with all our birthstones in it on a chain around my neck where it has been since she pressed it into my hand in her hospital bed a couple of days before she died. Monetarily, its not worth more than a few hundred dollars but there is nothing in the world that could replace it. Thanks for reminding me of my blessings. Oh and I will absolutely be making that frosting…what a great idea!

  • Monet says:

    >What a great story. I too have jewelry given to me by my grandmother that I treasure deeply. The cupcakes look delicious. I've been meaning to buy some Matcha powder, and not that I've seen these…I'm going to have to go out and get some this weekend!

  • Juliana says:

    >Wow, these chocolate cupcakes sure sound so yummie with the matcha frosting…very colorful :-)

  • >the cupcakes looks good, love the frosting too. Love the story about the bracelet from your grandmother. Thank you for sharing.

  • >My grandmother was too poor to leave me anything but her recipes and the wonderful memories I have of her. It's nice that you have some physical reminder of her :) I would have loved to have seen a picture of your bracelet.The cupcakes look wonderful – I especially love the deep green of the frosting and the swirls are just perfect!

  • Le says:

    >What a touching story :) Brought a tear to my eye (yeah Im a cry baby). I love the look of these cupcakes. I've been trying to find matcha powder everywhere but I can't find it! Even in asian stores :(

  • Le says:

    >Haha yes so I am a sap :P My bf thinks I'm pathetic when I cry during hallmark ads. LOL.Ooo avocado milkshakes, avocado ice cream, chopped up avocado with milk and sugar, AND CHOCOLATE/AVOCADO PUDDING! hahahha so yes I do love avocado in desserts.

  • >Thanks for sharing that story about your grandmother. Oh, and the cupcakes look striking.

  • >Oh I just talked to my grandmother today and your post really pulled at my heartstrings. I am fortunate enough that she is still alive and an inspiration to me, but you are also lucky that you have such great memories and keepsakes. :)And the cupcakes, well of course they look super cool.

  • Le says:

    >Did you ask if we have avocado milkshakes here?? Coz u just wrote avocados and then chinese cafes and then dennys. Well I've only ever seen avocado milkshakes in vietnamese restos here. And yeap we have denny's here! It's not that popular but I eat there once in awhile when me n my bf crave a Club sandwich. haha.

  • >olala…look at the swirls of the matcha frosting….just gorgeous!

  • >the matcha cream cheese frosting is gorgeous!

  • t r a n g says:

    >The matcha cream cheese frosting was perfection! Thank you!

  • >Roxan! What a coincidence! I just made matcha cookies last night! hahaha. I love green tea. Have you tried Matcha Blast at Jamba juice? Oh so gooddd. Matcha and chocolate are each other best friends!Oh your story is so touching! I know how silly we were when we were kids. I felt the same way with my sisters.

  • >These look wonderful, love the color combination:)

  • Le says:

    >Ohhhh I thought u meant that! We don't have any chinese cafes like ones like Denny's (none that I know of) but we do have a lot of Chinese takeaways and restos. Yeah I remember eating at Denny's at like 4am after clubbing, hungover as hell.

  • Stella says:

    >Roxan, these look wicked awesome! I love the look of that green frosting. I need to try matcha powder soon. I haven't seen any around here though…

  • >Your story made this entry even more special. Those cupcakes look absolutely perfect and delicious but it is your story that I will remember when I think of chocolate cupcakes with matcha cream cheese frosting now. I'll have to go find matcha powder. That frosting looks divine!

  • ajcabuang04 says:

    >What a great story! And very interesting combination of flavors with the chocolate and matcha. Looks great though!Would you mind checking out my blog? :Dhttp://ajscookingsecrets.blogspot.com/

  • Susan says:

    >What a great idea! Love your site!

  • Kita says:

    >I have never had anything matcha flavored but in the last 3 days I have read 4 recipes with it. I am going to have to march myself to town and start asking people about it. These cupcakes look great!

  • briarrose says:

    >Fabulous frosting. The color tickles me.

  • Olivia says:

    >The frosting on these looks insane. I need to get my hands on Matcha powder!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Chocolate Cupcakes with Matcha Cream Cheese Frosting at Sweet Shanti.

meta

