Clear Focus Coffee Macarons

May 22, 2011 § 12 Comments

At my studio, Yogis Anonymous, they live stream several of their classes a week and then post those classes to their online library. It’s pretty special – I overheard my teacher talking about it once, and she said that she receives emails from all over the world from people who log on and join in on the live classes. Imagine that – people in the England, Germany, Brazil, other parts of the country etc, moving the same movements, breathing the same breaths, all at the same time. It gives me chills whenever I talk about it.

The other nice thing about the online library is that as a member, I can go back and look at the classes I participated in. It’s helpful because I’ve been able to see tweaks that need to be made in my alignment. In my previous entry I wrote about the unsteadiness and imbalance of my Friday evening practice after a really stressful work week. It’s amazing what a difference a little bit of rest can make; the screenshot below (me on the red mat) was taken two days later on Sunday.

In class my teachers are always reminding us of our drishti, or focus. I think that drishti also refers to things such as goals, but in the physical practice focusing our gaze on one specific point helps with balance and concentration. If you’re curious about drishti, try standing with your eyes closed and see (pun intended!) how challenging it can be. In the screenshot I’m in forearm balance and in this pose I need an intense gaze  – whether it be a speck of dust on my mat or a grain of wood on the floor – to steady myself.

I think that coffee macarons are the perfect treat for the theme of clear focus. True, too much caffeine is a bad thing but it sure does help me focus in the mornings when I’m at work! I’m really happy with how this batch turned out… they’re my best batch yet! Still, they aren’t turning out this well consistently, so I still have a lot of practice practice practice ahead of me. I’ve been really stubborn about perfecting the macaron but it’s been a stubborn fun. Fun making them, fun eating them, and fun sharing them. That’s the best kind of stubborn.

Coffee Macaron Shells:
100g Egg whites, aged 4 days
66g caster sugar
120g almond flour
180g powdered sugar
1 tsp instant coffee
2 drops of brown food coloring gel

In a stand mixer, whisk the egg whites. When foamy, add the caster sugar, instant coffee, and coloring gel. Continue to whisk until stiff peaks form. Meanwhile, sift together the almond flour and powdered sugar. When the egg whites are nice and stiff, fold into the almond flour/ powdered sugar and continue to mix until the batter ribbons back into the bowl.

Transfer the batter into piping bags, and pipe onto silpats into rounds about 1 1/2 inches wide. Let sit for half an hour. Preheat oven to 320 degrees F, and bake for 10 to 12 minutes. When cool, match up the shells by size and fill with the coffee filling, recipe below.

Coffee Filling:
100g unsalted butter
160g milk
2 tbsp instant coffee
1 egg
20g caster sugar
20g instant pudding powder

Cream the butter and set aside. In a small saucepan add the milk and coffee, and heat to medium. In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, caster sugar, and pudding powder. Add to the milk and coffee and stir until thickened. Remove from heat, and let cool a bit. When it’s cooled down, cover with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge to cool completely. When cool, mix in the creamed butter and pipe onto the coffee macaron shells.

Source: Mad About Macarons!
(I highly recommend this book!!)

Tagged: , ,

§ 12 Responses to Clear Focus Coffee Macarons

  • Raina says:

    These look wonderful. I have always wanted to try making them but have been a little intimidated. Yours came out perfect. I like the idea of coffee flavored macarons; that sounds really yummy.

    That is amazing how you can keep yourself in perfect alingment for that pose. I love Yoga and wish I had a nice place like your studio to go to around here. There was a place that I used to go to but they closed.

  • Roxan, your alignment is amazing! You look very focused in that pose, I have to try it on a good day… As for your coffee macarons, they look perfect, in fact everytime you make them, they’ve looked perfect to me! The more macarons posts you do, the more I’m encouraged to try it because you make it look so easy, girl! As for the matcha crepes, well, great minds must think alike…LOL.

  • Your macarons look perfect, I am extremely impressed! And it was interesting to read about your yoga practice, and especially how they live stream it – such a connection is really incredible, and also useful for training! Oh technology. :)

  • sweetlife says:

    congrast on your new move! roxan your pose is perfection!! great tool the live streaming and having a library!! lovely macarons!

    sweetlife

  • RavieNomNoms says:

    Congrats!! That is awesome! You look great doing it!

    Your macarons look fantastic my dear! I want to grab maybe 2 or 3/5 or 6 ;- )

  • So nice that you can review your classes via video and that so many can participate no matter how far away :) These macarons look fantastic and I am sure are delightful with each bite :)

  • valerie says:

    My heart just skipped a beat looking at these amazing macarons!!!!! A big Congrats to you!

  • pachecopatty says:

    Hi Roxan, I think your alignment and your macarons are both very impressive!
    Everything looks very professional to me;-)

  • Rick says:

    I love yoga and macarons are my favorite, but would the yoga instructors approve of eating macarons?

  • Joy says:

    Ohh i love this recipe.

  • Okay, “My name is Roxan and I am addicted to macarons” They do look perfect though and so does your forearm balance pose thing, I am impressed and slightly bewildered :D

  • Girl you are a macaroon making machine!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Clear Focus Coffee Macarons at Sweet Shanti.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

