Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Cream

May 15, 2011 § 27 Comments

Like most others, I look forward to Friday evenings, but one thing that makes it that much more sweet for me is my Friday night after-work yoga practice. I call it my end of the week work detox and I love spending the time on my mat, letting the weight of the week just melt away and disappear. It’s a time for me to collect myself and catch up on the breaths I lost while holed up at my desk. Often times in class we are given the choice to set an intention for class and on Friday evenings I try to focus on things  that will help me peacefully say goodbye to the work week and gracefully wave hello to the weekend.

On Friday I drove to class and as I exited the freeway I looked forward to class, ready to go in for a strong class and let go of everything from the previous 40 work hours. But as we got into the flow, something was off. When we stood up from our first standing forward fold I felt the world go black and the room began to spin. I struggled to stay upright and swayed as I fought to keep from passing out. When everything finally cleared, after what felt like hours, I looked around and everyone was still standing – our teacher had given us a few moments to stand and ground ourselves with our eyes closed and I was grateful that no one had noticed. I took it easy the rest of the class.

Work this past week was busy and stressful without much time for me to come up for air, and I think that this extra stress manifested itself in my body. While class was a struggle, as always I still left happy about going and felt I got what I needed while I was there. I came home ready for the weekend, and thought that I would celebrate with a treat. Naturally, that includes a glass of wine but this time I decided that I would turn my treat into an extra sweet treat.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Cream:
1 can full fat coconut milk
1 1/4 cups soy milk
1/2 cup turbinado sugar
1/2 cup First Street creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup First Street strawberry preserves

In a bowl, whisk together the coconut milk, soy milk, sugar, and peanut butter. Let chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions.

In your ice cream storage containers, spoon a couple spoonfuls of preserves in. Then layer in some ice cream, and some more preserves on top of that. Continue layering until all the ingredients are used up and freeze for at least a few hours, or overnight.

Source: Lick It!

*Note that I am being compensated to write this post, but all opinions are entirely mine.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 27 Responses to Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Cream

  • Leanne says:

    Yum! PB ice cream is one of my favourites, and I can’t imagine how much better it is with jam in the mix.

    We really need to be neighbours!!

  • Amy says:

    This icecream sounds amazing! First off it is vegan, and second, one of the best childhood flavor combinations! I love it :)!

    • Roxan says:

      Thanks! I am a true lover of pb&j. I could not stop eating this ice cream last night. As much as I love it – I think I love it too much and probably won’t make it again for a while! It’s dangerous.

  • Marisa says:

    Wow, that is some care package! Lately I’ve been having a real obsession with peanut butter ice cream. I think it is because there is a place by me that sells homemade ice cream and they make it so good! I love yours with the swirls of jelly–especially because it is strawberry jelly. Soo good!

  • That sounds so refreshing, especially with the hot weather we’ve been having. I bet it’d taste good as a milkshake too!

  • Tes says:

    Oh wow… this sounds like my kind of combo! I will try this soon. My family will love this :)

  • It sounds like you need to take it a bit more easy! What if that had happened in the car? I sound like my mother now but you know what I mean.. Gorgeous sounding ice cream, I really need to get myself an ice cream maker. I’ve never tried making it with coconut milk sounds delish!!

  • I love anything peanut and butter flavored! This ice cream sounds great! I love Smart and Final too- we always pick up stuff there for work and I ended up leaving with all kinds of stuff for me too. LOL

  • RavieNomNoms says:

    That looks great! I absolutely love tha tit is peanut butter and jelly flavored. That is just so high up on my list of combinations of flavors.

  • RavieNomNoms says:

    That looks great! I absolutely love that it is peanut butter and jelly flavored. That is just so high up on my list of combinations of flavors.

  • This is so creative, Roxan! What a fun flavor of ice cream, and I bet it tasted amazingly delicious. Thanks for sharing and stopping by my blog!

  • Tanantha says:

    what goodies you’ve received! I want some! Well, take it easy this week. I can relate to stressful week.

    You really like ice cream! This flavor combo is a winner!

  • Emily says:

    Wow, you have taken PB&J to a new level!!! I gotta try this recipe as soon as the winter is over….hehe!

  • briarrose says:

    Yikes….almost passing out….never a fun time.

    What a fun flavor of ice cream. It calls to the inner child.

  • Kristen says:

    You have done exactly what I am in the slow process of doing…moving to wordpress and changing your name (blog name that is). Did you do it all yourself? Did you have someone help you set up this site? I am floundering with wordpress…it’s just not quite as dummy friendly as blogger was, but I am looking to leave.

    Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are my go to snack. Love, love, love them in any form. Ice cream sounds like the perfect venue for this classic combo.

    • Roxan says:

      Hi Kristen! Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond – I know.. I’m so bad at respondnig sometimes. Work has just been so crazy lately. Anyways – I made the transfer myself. If you fiddle around with WordPress, the basics are pretty easy. Blogger has an option to export your entries and comments into a file and wordpress has an option to import them, so that was the first thing I did to get all my posts moved over here. From there I picked out a theme and the widgets I wanted to show on my sidebar. The one thing that was tedious was getting all the “categories” and “tags” sorted out… I think I’m still not done with that yet. I think wordpress has a lot more functionality that I have yet to tap into – and probably never will… But I was able to get it up and running which is good enough for me! So far I’m really loving it over here.

  • I’ve never tried a peanut butter ice cream but it sounds delicious! I like how you layer the ice cream and jelly…great idea!

  • PB & Jelly ice cream is a terrific idea, I like that you are using coconut milk and soy milk here.

  • Ohh yum! I love the idea of PB&J ice cream! What a great melding of childhood favorites!

  • Maya says:

    Your PB & J ice cream looks so fine, and extra points for making it vegan as well! It seems effortless to make but I’m pretty sure the taste was amazing. Smart and Final were ahem…smart to send their products your way! I hope you have a well-rested weekend and yes, listen to your body :-).

  • this looks so good. So many awesome ice cream recipes this week it makes me really want to get an ice cream maker.

    I know exactly what you mean about class, i felt that way recently myself but its so amazing to get through class and just be the way you are no matter what. I never feel like after i go to class (no matter how bad i think class was or how much i struggled to get there) I shouldn’t of gone, which makes me realize how amazing is.

    anyway I hope you have a wonderful weekend even if it is a new week
    cheers

  • Alisa says:

    The ice cream looks wonderful. I love the jelly on top

  • Rick says:

    They make something like this in the wizarding world. But a vegan version is always superior because it is vegan.

  • OMG I could go for some of this right now.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Cream at Sweet Shanti.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

